Self Portrait Experimentation - Elastic Heart

in #photography5 years ago (edited)



A few months ago I started a journey of self discovery where I challenged myself to get out of my comfort zone and try new things. The idea being that constantly doing these things will help me grow as an individual.

One of the challenges was self portraits, as well as sharing them here on Steem as part of a blockchain journal of sorts.

I’ve always been a fan of the artistic nature of self portraits, as well as the emotion that can portrayed through a photo itself. And while learning a bit about photography, I’ve been attempting to do portraits as well.

I haven’t done any in awhile, but seeing as I’m trying to get back to sharing more and being more real and personal, I figured it was a good time to get back into it.

Looking through some of @hiddenblade’s older posts inspired me to grab the camera, some tunes .. and see what story came to me. She after all she was the original inspiration that got me to do them in the first place, so it only seems fitting.

I generally try to incorporate music or poetry with portraits, but felt that these all sort of told the same story, well in my head anyways. A more raw and exposed story of the resilience of our hearts, the unbreakable will we hold within, and the beauty of embracing everything you are, inside and out.

I hope you enjoy them and perhaps they can tell a story to you as well.


”I've got thick skin and an elastic heart.
I'm like a rubber band until you pull too hard
But I may snap when I move close
But you won't see me fall apart
'Cause I've got an elastic heart“






2C10A70BB36C4BC3A7CB1DD609D9860F.jpeg






266782C0F8F9411F933192F775A91C1A.jpeg






8623BF56B4FA407D94F152D23B2F6963.jpeg






A33014F29CE745EFAF79492721C6F531.jpeg






436A6DF897B3451B9260BDE61BCDE3B0.jpeg


”You did not break me
I'm still fighting for peace...”





Much Love,

Justine


Photos taken with a Fuji X-T2/35mm

Quotes Source

Sort:  

that song is the anthem of my life! great choice of song. :)
you look beautiful in those pictures btw! <3

Thank you! I really enjoy the song too.. awesome lyrics. ☺️

No doubt about that! <3

Dear @justineh

APPICS is a next-generation social media app that rewards you for posting pictures and videos online!

I'd like to invite you to our fully functional testnet for iOS and Android, where you can simply login with your steemit account and start getting rewarded for your passion .

If you are on iOS, please visit https://ios.appics.com and download the app from there. If you are on Android, please send us an email to [email protected] from your google play store email address so that we can invite you exclusively!

Team APPICS

Visit our Website: https://appics.com/

Join us on Telegram: https://t.me/appics_official

Hey thanks so much for the invite! I’ll try it out 🙂

Lovely and sexy. Enough said.

Thank you Drakos ☺️ 😘 *sorry for my late response.. I went a-wall for a bit.

Aaww, Elastic Heart is also one of my favorite songs from Sia. Love her much!! And glad I was able to inspire you with my silly portraits lol. My favorite is the last one. Those eeeyyes!!!! :O <3

Such a great song! It’s been stuck in my head lately.

Of course you inspire me, among others.. and they aren’t silly in the slightest, they are badass 😉

Thank you! I actually didn’t like that one and almost didn’t include it. Haha.. shows you really shouldn’t choose your own pictures I guess .. like Gandalf told me.

Thanks for the love ❤️


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Not a smirk in sight! I had to really hold back...

Thank you 😉

lele, you are gorgeous * ___ * warmth of spirit, kind of heart, and funny, and talented, and tenacious <3 and also good looking like a movie star :D waw!

so very brave :D i love the photos! the poses and the framing and the way you wear your hair are really elegant aaaaaaa

also that lines are so YOU, from elastic heart :D :D :D

LOVE IT \o/ !!!!

Awe thank you Spidey!!! You are so incredibly kind and always leave me the most thoughtful and inspiring comments, thank you for that ❤️

The third one reminds me of an old Hollywood movie poster! Nice pics :)

Old Hollywood is always a huge compliment, thanks so much I really appreciate that! ❤️

Nice work! I think the last one is my favourite as you look like you're saying "WTF, it's only Wednesday?" which is exactly what I'm thinking right now as I contemplate getting out of bed to go to work...

They're all really good, at least to my untrained eye. No technical critique from me, just the basic, "yep, they're legit photos."

Posted using Partiko Android

Dude it’s TUESDAY!! Stop trying to force your insane, Australian, futuristic ways on the world man! We aren’t having it!!

now that that is out there..

Thanks so much, I appreciate your compliment.. trained or not! 😊

I know, it's like that movie Back to the Future, which you may be far too young to recall. 🤔 I don't even know what part of the rock you're on to be honest. Stateside I'm guessing...

Really nice photos though for sure. Tasteful.

Posted using Partiko Android

The fact that there actually may be people on Steem that are too young to recall Back To The Future made me die inside a little bit.

Yep, I’m in Cali.. and you know us Americans.. It’s our time or it doesn’t exist. 😜

Thank you ❤️

I like Americans...You always seem to know what you're getting. I'm going to go there someday. CAnt believe with all the places I've been I haven't been there yet. Maybe because America is so like Aus? We seem to have our tone set by the US you know? I'll get there someday. More keen on the faraway places than the cities though.

P.s. Knowing who Marty and Doc are makes me feel old wise.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know how much you like doing this, but they came out just beautifully. Just plain lovely! Wonderful job!

Thank you very much! It’s funny, I enjoy the act of making the portraits now.. even though I don’t feel like I know what I’m doing.. but the act of posting them is still very painful, not going to lie. So thank you, I appreciate the kind words 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94