My Backyard Bearded Iris - iris croatica

in #photography6 years ago

bearded iris 2.JPG

The things I learn while posting on Steemit... 9 days ago I posted photos of the bearded iris from my front yard. Today, I'm posting the backyard bearded iris. Notice something besides the irises? I'm not exactly a grammar Nazi but there are several acceptable ways to spell backyard while front yard is still two words. But I digress.

These are a yellow bearded iris with a pattern of veins on the falls (lower petals) reminiscent of our native irises, the blue flags. It is the first year they have bloomed for me. They were a surprise today since I missed the flower buds due to our off and on rain which has kept me out of the garden. I wonder what else is new out there?

bearded iris 1.JPG

References

Iris - Wikipedia
Iris Identification
How to Grow, Maintain, and Divide Bearded Iris
My Frontyard Bearded Iris

Images

All photos from the iPad of @kansuze.

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

So pretty! I moved my iris two years ago and they are finally budding again. Thank goodness the frost didn't harm them. I will post a picture soon.

I got these from a friend two years ago. Looking forward to your photo. I love irises.

Those are gorgeous!

I never observed that yard difference. I think sometimes I am self defeating with grammar. I might now forever have mixed them up. You will see my future blogs with the words frontyard and back yard.

LOL I had a feeling that one would resonate with you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84