Snow in Victoria!

in #photography5 years ago

If I knew this would happen, I could have just stayed in Ontario! Seriously, I'm here largely to escape the winter cold and snow that plagues the rest of Canada... and now it has followed me here to the west coast!

ffb7ownsx0.jpg

Honestly, it's not a problem, I'm happy to experience a little taste of winter, which should be with us for about a week. So far we have less than an inch on the ground. I'm not sure how the palm trees feel about this, however.

e18biq4d97.jpg

The snow can be pretty, especially when you know it won't last long. As you will see in the next photo, a little snow does not slow down our cyclists.

x8ejmwqkyg.jpg

Today I am staying off the roads because I don't think anyone in this town knows how to drive in the snow.

887ohjw1g7.jpg

Tomorrow I hope to get down to Beacon Hill Park and try for some photos of the Cherry Blossoms with snow on them. I'm not sure what the snowy flower above is, but I imagine it will survive a little dusting of snow.

s5z9vowikb.jpg

That's all I have to share today... I'll stop now before the people in the rest of Canada ridicule me too much! Have a great weekend, my friends and stay warm! :-)

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That is pretty crazy! This winter has been rather bizarre! Great photos, though!

Melinda... listen to me seriously ok? I'm so cold you can't imagine... the temperature is now 33 F. It's absolute cruelty if you ask me!

Too cold for your neck of the woods! I am feeling sorry for all your trees and flowers! It's 9° here, but it is supposed to be cold here. Bundle up! Hopefully it passes quickly!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Lovely captures of the snow, Keith. The weather is crazy these days. I was surprised to hear about your snow on the news. Good idea to stay off the roads as there are always accidents when motorists not used to driving in snow.

Just came back from another walk. The light is better now. It's getting very icy. The snow had started to melt, but now it's turning into a skim of black ice everywhere. Listen to me whine... haha! :-)

P2080026.jpg

Once this passes you will enjoy and appreciate the great climate that’s normal there.

My Daughter sent me this on Facebook: The number one reason B.C. irritates the rest of Canada. :-)

Screen Shot 2019-02-08 at 7.12.54 PM copy.jpg

That’s too funny, Keith. 😂. The Polar vortex also missed PEI..hurray!

Wow! Mini ice age has arrived!! Keep warm!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, a mini ice age! It's funny as long as it goes away soon!

That does look like a lot of fun, since you know it won't last. When I was 3 it snowed in Florida. Folks still talk about it around here: The Great Snow of '89. I don't think it was even an inch, but people lost their minds :)

That's funny, I didn't know it ever snowed in Florida, even once in 30 years! The last serious snowfall here is known as the blizzard of '96. That was something like 2 or 3 feet of snow. I think it closed the city for a week or more.

Howdy sir Keith! wow snow! And it looks really nice. that Palm tree looks especially interesting with snow on it!

The wind is howling out there tonight. It's a cold night, going down to 28 F. Glad you liked that unhappy palm tree ;-)

howdy sir Keith! down to 28 huh, that's scary, lol. How's your day been? I know you've been working your tail off on your contest. What about this weekend, any plans?

It's Cathy's birthday so we're going out for dinner. It's really cold today. Not so much the actual temperature but the wind chill makes it feel like the north pole!

howdy today sir Keith! aahhh..so in other words it's typical Canadian weather for a change up there. Well happy birthday to your wife! I hope there is a favorite restaurant in town that will be marvelous to have dinner at.

This is the more typical Canadian weather for sure! We might be getting a couple of inches of snow on Sunday and again on Monday. The temperature will be way below normal for about two weeks. This sounds like a good time to visit Mexico!

haha! yes sir, Mexico. And you've been there before so you have an area you'd prefer to go to?

The only place I've been is right here. A small town called Melaque. It was nice and warm!

Screen Shot 2019-02-09 at 2.51.05 PM copy.jpg

Great photos. I noticed some cherry blossoms driving around today. And we had some snow earlier in the week also. Crazy combo.

The weather has gone nuts. How often do you get snow in the Bay area? Must be rare I would think.

Hi @keithboone
As a follower of @haccolong this post has been upvoted by @hoaithu's Curation Trail.
This is free upvote first when you follow @haccolong

Thanks very much!

Congratulations @keithboone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4000 replies. Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89