Day 1 - Pilot/Introduction

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Perhaps the most intriguing part about the art of Photography is not the shot of the environment it upholds, but rather the amount of effort invested into making the single frame possible.

Same goes for Cinematography, Culinary Arts, Drama Performances, and Art Exhibitions: you need to edit for hours to get the perfect 5 second roll call, cook to perfection for people to admire you, act as if you are the character to receive admiration, and express your emotions through shapes and colors. There are so many other disciplines that require a vast pool of experience to perfect the arts.

Photography is a discipline no different from its counterparts: you need the eye to perceive what it will look like when you press the button, the physique to travel miles to get the perfect frame, and the dedication.

That's what I like about photography - that's also the reason why I'd like to share with you some of my works today. Enjoy.

Appendix - 1.jpg

Behind the busy face of Chinese University of Hong Kong is a jungle-like forest, full with wildlife and exotic plants. Few roads venture this territory, and even fewer photographers tend to walk around this side of the campus.

I pick up my camera, polished and brushed, and venture down the road.

Appendix-2.jpg

It's almost evening. During the Autumn, the evenings are beautiful. A light eastward breeze skip my face, and the warm sunshine pad the greens. The gorgeous smell of flowers and fermented leaves fill the air, and there's nobody around you. You are alone with your thoughts.

Appendix-3.jpg

Photography takes my mind out of studies for a brief period of time; unfortunately, this is also a period of time where I miss my home - my family meals, my dusty room and my siblings.

I carry on walking with the hopes that the clouds I see would be the same ones my home will see in a couple of hours - perhaps even in a couple of days. The clouds are my messengers, and my messengers are full of Nostalgia.

Appendix-4.jpg

Photography also masks a lot of regrets I have; I gain my own peace when the darkness retreats behind the leaves and the cracks below the dark cement road. They'll be back when the sun ventures down.

It's Autumn, so a lot of the trees are dead. Ironically, they become good victims as my photography subjects.

Appendix-5.jpg

The clouds too, can be unforgivably beautiful.

Appendix-6.jpg

Appendix-7.jpg

Behind CUHK is this really high-end town, complete with billionaire mansions, pools, and beach-side runs. Half of the town is still under construction.

Some would say artificial and industrial gears make up for bad photography, but I can't disagree more.

Appendix 9.jpg

There's also this Science museum with a really nice fountain place. I increase my Shutter speed on my camera and capture the water.

Appendix-8.jpg

All the fun and time pass by, and the darkness creeps back. I snap one last picture to enjoy the moment.

Appendix - 10.jpg

I slide the camera back into my bag and venture back to my dormitory.

  • J
Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @kimmel-samsara!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Hiya! I've met you (sort of) at the Steem Artists' discord, so just want to say hi here, also :D

Welcome to Steemit !

Wishing you great success here, any questions, just let me know :D

Thank you very much for your support!

Hi,

This is a lovely introductory post, Thank you for taking the time to write the post and say hello to the community!

I am here to help!

I would encourage you to keep posting and comment on others users content to help make a name for yourself and to get the most out of the platform!

Feel free to comment on my content and I'll up vote your comments! Drop me a follow so you can comment a lot and get a lot of my upvotes!

I have upvoted your post!

Luppers :)

Congratulations @kimmel-samsara! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheDudeBroGuy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Goodday and Welcome to the great community of Steemit, Samsara kimmel, i walked this photo blog with you, Nice writing...... but first things first...
YESS You are a new Steemian now! I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. We haven’t met before but that changes right now.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother is what steemit is and what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money to.

I love blogging, But always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !! For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11.

The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. Or read this blog
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote
I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Good luck with your journey and may you find here what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is THE key to big succes on Steemit.

Please vote for a witness to. You have 30 votes and if you dont understand let me know and i Will help. Also you could join the SteemTerminal Discord.
Or visit @heyhaveyamet #HHYA and My friend @xcountytravelers for more newbies exposure in the beginning very important.

Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help, I am in Discord too @ brittandjosie3488
Greeting from the Netherlands
@ Brittandjosie

Welcome kimmel-samsara!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to steemit @kimmel-samsara.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 66992.58
ETH 3460.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.68