Dark pinup w/ Ryder James!

Good evening, Steemit! I’m sitting here, almost asleep and it’s not even 11:00p.m. Remember all those blog posts that I used to start at 2:00a.m., just as my European friends like @allangraves and @eveuncovered were waking up! I’ve been trying to get back to a reasonable schedule, and now that I have it, it feels extremely weird. Being tired at 10:00p.m. makes me feel like an old man. My early day was extremely productive, though. I’ll try this for a while. @guthrie [finally] went back to school today, so I’m hoping it’s the beginning of a routine I can keep.

I had a big, big shoot yesterday for La Femme En Noir. You can read and see some of the behind the scenes in @vermillionfox’s newest post, “En route”. I’ll have some more on that soon, but after a successful shoot, I spent the morning editing photos from my November trip to Los Angeles. I’m still uber behind on edits. The last few weeks of @guthrie having breaks, vacations, sick days and snow days, really impacted my ability to work. Today, though, I was energized to look through photos from this past fall.

One of those wonderful shoots was with a Northern California model named Ryder James. She snagged my very last shoot during this west coast trip. In fact, I photographed her my very last day there, just hours before catching my flight home. Her hair was done by my darling friend Analisa, and make-up by Nikki Napalm; another friend and talented LA artist. Ryder looked incredible in the wardrobe she brought and the mansion/estate turned these first few images in to a dark fairytale.

Thanks for reading! These are just the first few images from this shoot with Ryder. It was a great feeling to scan through the entire shoot again. I’ve been so busy catching up on the last of my Viva Las Vegas edits, this was the first time I’ve looked back since taking these photos in November. So many great shots to come. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Wow such beautiful portraits! 💛🌴🦋🌈🍀❤️

@kommienezuspadt, With time our schedules get slow in some cases, but one thing is for sure and that is, whenever we look back into our passionate work that gives the needed boost and inspire us to enjoy our passion once again.

All these pictures hold the essence of epicness and antiqueness.

Stay Blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the kind words @chireerocks! Most of the big gains I've made on Steemit have been during the downtimes. The passion for photography ties in my love for posting and sharing work here.

Welcome and great to know these words. When we have meaning with us, we can go through from any phase. Have a blessful time ahead.

Congratulations @kommienezuspadt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 55000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am all for set sleeping schedules. And in bed by 10 is how I roll, too. Though even when I was a 'youth' I still rolled that way. I was an 'old woman' at 16 so yeah, sleep and mornings were always more important to me than parties and 'throwing my hands up in the air' :)

More amazing moody and wonderfully lit photos. And I'm always drooling for the fashion of your models as well.

My entire family is inherently night owls. My grandma would go to sleep around 1:00a.m. My mom around 2 - 3:00a.m., and as a third generation night owl, I went for years going to sleep at 5 - 6:00a.m. I also worked third shift in a psychiatric hospital for seven years. I'm definitely over that life now that I'm almost 40, though. Thanks for the kind words, @donnadavisart!

Love the lighting and color tone of these shots. I'm learning about indoor portraits and excited to stumble upon your blog which is full of great examples!
I also used to start writing posts here at midnight, just as my Asian friends were waking up(I'm in Europe)! ;) And I'm trying hard to change this bad habbit. I got up at 7am this morning and is sooo sleepy now in the afternoon! How did you get back to a reasonable schedule? Any tips to share? :)

Well, the only way to really do it, @itchyfeetdonica, is to spent an entire day awake. You have to eat the lack of sleep until you can pass out at a decent hour, like 10:00p.m. That's great that you're getting in to photography. Definitely share your work here. I'd love to see it.

Hmm, that sounds like a great tip! I'll give it a try, thanks! Yes, I did some photography course in my Master, but more like art criticism - nothing about the practical shooting. I've been taking photos mainly during my travels, and now I do more and more indoor shoots too. This is my new post in which I included some photos shot in a restaurant: https://steemit.com/tasteem/@itchyfeetdonica/tasteem-7834f7 Any comment is welcome! =)

Mega portraits! With me you can see landscapes from Poland

@swiatfotoobrazow I'm not good at landscape photography, but I definitely appreciate the art. I'll check them out.

Wow, you are really pro. I am just a beginner with an Olympus OM-D EM5 Mark II, but I try my best. Hope to get to this level too.

Where do you get those nice locations???

Best, Martin

Thanks @art-universe! I'm not familiar with the OM-D EM5, but ironically, my first professional camera was an Olympus. I switched to Nikon and haven't looked backs since. The locations are usually paid for by the clients that hire me.

Back to the routine then?
If, maybe, that helps to improve, perhaps the change of schedules in your tasks have made you sleep earlier.
She's very cute! The last photo I love, I think it's my favorite.
I've missed many things because I have no internet, but to upgrade I'll find Vermillion..

Thanks @yanes94! I love that last one, too. It's got such a fantasy feel about it. How are things in Venezuela? I keep reading the news and thinking of you.

Yes, I really love it😍!

The thing lately is more difficult, before we had a president and it was difficult, now we have two presidents and it is more complicated.

The moments we live now do not compare to the time we lived in my country at the time I met you with $ 10 could survive but now I need much more money to try to do it, things are very expensive day after day.

Thank you very much for being aware of the situation in my country, you are very kind 🤗 !

Man, your friend who did the hair did an amazing job!

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87