Dark pinup w/ Susan and struggling w/ creative restlessness!

Hey, Steemit! 1:00a.m. seems to be my time for Steemit posts. I always get in a real creative stride after 10:00a.m. That’s not surprising, I guess. Most of my day involves being present with @guthrie, and I set aside MTG time with @tarotbyfergus and friends. Once the world goes to sleep, that’s when I have a few hours of uninterrupted creativity and productivity. That time is often spent creating […be it photography, illustration or writing], and my last stop before bed is taking the time to share it here with the Steemit community. It’s a good formula. It would be better if I didn’t have to wake up a few hours later to get @guthrie ready for school, but the candle that burns twice as fast also burns twice as bright, right?

I’m wrestling with another creative itch I can’t find the right way to scratch. My brother, @customnature, and friend @thomaskuntzart are both great sculptors and fabricators. @vermillionfox shared in her recent Steemit post, “I’m back to sculpting again!”, that before she seeks a full-time job as a result of this endless bear market, we’re both going to make efforts to come at Etsy with our art. She’s enjoyed the last year and a half exploring different mediums of art, and sculpting was one she was particularly fond of. I’ve always been intrigued by it as well, and I’m thinking about giving it a shot. The question is, do I go down the path of traditional clay sculpting, or digital 3D modeling?

Back to the medium of art that does consistently pay the bills; photography. I have some new work to share tonight with a model I photographed in Los Angeles during August. Her name is Susan. A kitschy pinup with great style that was looking to explore a more serious, darker side. In the rockabilly and vintage scene, I’m the guy for that. She contacted me just before my trip and snapped up the last booking I had for the west coast. We shot these beautiful, moody images at one of my favorite locations in LA. There is a lot more to come with Susan. This was only the first set of edits and as I’m catching up, I’m having more time to get to “recent” clients.

I’m going to spend the rest of the night tinkering with ZBrush. I just found a method of using the iPad Pro and Apple Pencil to sculpt, aided with an app called Astropad that allows you to mirror your Mac’s screen on the tablet. Tomorrow, I may push around clay and see if I have the mind for sculpting. It seems weird, but it’s a medium I can’t recall ever experimenting with in a serious capacity. Thanks for reading and thank you to all the Steemit loyalists that’ve braved this hard time, still creating great content for me to read. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

You both are so artistic, and it's great that you push each other to try and experiment in new creative direction :D.
                     
I am looking forward to your sculpture, be it real or digital ^_^.

I saw what customnature has done and it is amazing, I also saw the sculpture of Fox and I liked the style very much.
I think it would be an opportunity to learn something new.
with the ZBrush program oh wow! people do amazing things, the images look great!
if Photoshop has me spinning around, how will that tool be? heheh
I recently downloaded the application.
I hope to see your sculpture soon😍 , maybe fences for the clay!

this girl pin up is very beautiful, photogenic, I congratulate you tuss photos are very good and colorful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82