Golden hour in Iola w/ Catie!

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Happy belated Mother’s Day to all the Steemit moms, grandmas, aunts, dad’s carrying both roles, foster mom’s, stepmoms, adopted moms, and so on. You get my sentiment, right? Mom’s come in all varieties and you’re all appreciated. Mother's Day is a special day for me. Before meeting @vermillionfox, I was a single dad. She’s been an incredible force in our family and has supported us since. My career wouldn’t be possible without her. None of these photos would exist, and I’ve loving seeing her grow and develop as an artists here on Steemit. 

I’m finishing up what has been a very productive day. Late last night, I picked up were I left off with my Magic: The Gathering spiral. Hundreds of cards left in a ritualistic pile where I left them. I didn’t get to sleep until 2:00a.m., but I did end with three new decks. Two standard and one BRAWL. I had a chance to run all three of them against @tarotbyfergus, and although there were no flawless victories, I’m happy with how they performed. Maybe I’ll be doing another in depth deck list blog post soon […the kind @eveuncovered lives for].

I do have new photography […see above, to the “very productive day” comment]. Last summer, I brought @guthrie and @vermillionfox to Iola, Wisconsin with me. I had to be at a “Dark Pinup” book signing for @wcpublishing. It was an experience. It lent itself well to a cross country drive to Pennsylvania shortly after the event weekend, but during the time I was there, one of the prizes for the “Miss Iola Pageant” was a shoot with me! Caitlin won, and once she left the stage, we ran off to downtown Iola for her shoot.

We caught one of the most beautiful golden hour sunsets I’d seen in 2018. Downtown Iola is small and quaint, but it did have a very Midcentury feel to it. Catie looked great in a bold, red dress. We didn’t have long to shoot, but in the time we had, we made great use of the remaining sun and location. We found our way to the main four corner intersection and she stood within a door to an abandoned business. Just the right amount of beauty and desolation for my usual style of photography. 

There should be at least one more set of images of Catie to come. It saddens me that it’s been almost a year since this shoot and I’m just getting to the edits now. As I mentioned, I just shot 10,000 new photos during LA and Viva Las Vegas in April, and these overdue photos have to get finished before I start the new work. I’m doing the best I can as only one person running the whole show. Thanks for reading. For more photography and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

We always say that you have to wait for good things and this is the case with your photos. 10000 is more than A LOT so I guess that everyone will understand if it will take you some time to go through it.

These photos that you shared today are beautiful. You were very lucky with the light. I don't think that I have ever seen such vibrant yellow light..

And that dress is perfect for the atmosphere of the photos :)

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Thanks, @delishtreats! Yeah, I'm certainly overwhelmed by the amount of photos I still have to go through. I was just having a conversation with my friend @thomaskuntzart about the timelines to return the work. Glad you enjoyed the photos. Thanks for the comment.

she reminds me of the black mirror character ''Yorkie'' in San Supitero!

Beautiful! <3

bb15300572214b4bcbd907c65b5ddfc0.jpg

Hello @kommienezuspadt, how are u doing. Thank you for your words. Happy mother's day for you too. You look very beautiful with a bright red shirt. I see you are a very professional artist. I really like your photos. Enjoy your day my friend.

Thank you @elianaelisma, but I'm just the photographer. The photos are of a model I took pictures of in Wisconsin. Thanks for the kind words and support.

It's always interesting to look forward to. I really enjoy your posts, you have a great way to express yourself and it feels like being in your world. Art is beauty, not everyone can see that beauty, because that is a very precious beauty. Mother's Day.
Thanks for this @kommienezuspadt
Follow and resteem

Thank you so much, @wiralhokseumawe. I've been fortunate to be making my living as an artist for the last 10 years. It's taken me to some interesting places and I've met some incredible people. Happy belated Mother's Day to you.

I appreciate your hard work, my full support. stemeet has brought us to share history, culture, traditions and different environments. steemit has been global in our minds to share. We each have different friends and family to know and share experiences. Different from different traditions. always looking from eye to eye. About what we don't see for an opportunity. I am also grateful for what has been built in Steemit for all of us. The opportunity to share what we love and learn new things and find interesting people. I hope here are many friends, you are one of them. Honest for me "Art makes us aware of the beauty of life. It shows us the beauty of a work. An invaluable art is art that can thrill the soul of every person who sees it.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

That red dress is beautiful <3 beautiful model today, reesteem <3

more than a beautiful face, a photograph with great feeling ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73