Golden hour w/ @vintagevandalizm in the Colorado River!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

What’s up, Steemit! It’s been a weird day and I’m digesting all of it. I think the weirdest part is that by all rights, I “should” be in a crabby mood, but I’m not. I slept poorly last night. Apple’s iPhone event this afternoon […something I’ve been looking forward to for months, mostly for selfish iPad Pro reasons] was a colossal disappointment. What else? @tarotbyfergus beat me in MTG a few times in a row and I quit […not in a rage sort of way, but in a refusal to be stubborn enough to lose another five games, which I’ve been known to do]. My plans for tonight even fell through, but…who cares. I’m home. I’m going to make this post then draw for a few hours in time for my art shaming exchange with @bryan-imhoff.

One of the things I think I’m happy about is the photo I’m sharing here tonight. It’s the first edit from my recent shoot with fashion blogger and BFF, @vintagevandalizm. Lately, you’ve read my complaining a lot about how far behind I am […which is true]. If you read last night’s blog, “We’re facing a forking Internet!”, you’ll note that @vintagevandalizm and @vermillionfox have been hounding me to post on Instagram to stay relevant. That’s what this edit was about, in addition to posting it here on Steemit with some backstory […something Instagram never gets].

It was great to reflect on this shoot, even though it was just a few weeks ago. This was the end of a month that myself, @vermillionfox and @guthrie were on the road. @vintagevandalizm always goes over the top with her wardrobe, hair, make-up and styling. I expected that. She told me about a secret place where we could park and walk to the edge of the Colorado River, and that was exciting! We all made it there close to sundown, trying to capture that elusive golden hour light. Just as we pulled up, it began. Warm light poured down the Nevada canyon as we took our first photos against the desert cliffs and rocks.

We made our way to the water’s edge and @vintagevandalizm, wearing a gorgeous black gown with high slits up each thigh, submerged herself in the river. @guthrie explored the rocky shoreline for sticks and flat stones to skip. @vermillionfox helped me with pose ideas and the essentials, like making sure our son and I didn’t burn under the Nevada summer heat. The light was at it’s best just before disappearing over the mountain top and that’s when the photo at the top was taken. It was breathtaking. I’m dying to get to more from this shoot.

Thanks for reading. I have a lot of work to get through the rest of this week so the Steemit posts will be coming often. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

so pretty

Sometimes a day series of dissapointments sort of puts a limited day into perspective as a gift. You suddenly realize you are focusing on one good thing because the other things that were supposed to happen or be good, didn't. If any of that makes sense ;)

This looks an amazing place for a shoot, like an alien planet from TNG or something.

I only played MTG once, when my niece showed me how and I remember it being fun, but never had the chance since then. No @cafeetto for me.

I'm glad you're getting more posting time. And I need to get back on my twitter, ungh, so much social media! Thank God I spend the latter part of my day happily blissfully living it 20th century style...what's the internet? ;)

I forgot to ask what is your instagram name? I don't think I'm a follower yet? And @vermillionfox?

I agree @donnadavisart, and I do tend to give in to those bad days. If I spiral out I’ll just accept it’s a shitty day and I’ll be crabby then entire time. Last night, I wasn’t, though. I just let it roll off my back, which was nice. I wish I could that all the time.

MTG is a great game but you can’t come even close to digesting it in a game or two. It takes weeks or months to learn the rules and develop your own strategies/style. If you had a chance to play more, I’m sure you’d love it. It’s about the only recreation in my life.

My Instagram is www.instagram.com/kommienezuspadt

@vermillionfox’s is www.instagram.com/vermillionfox

GREAT SCENE on the River👌👍🤗

Thanks, @tomhall! I knew that backdrop would get your attention :P

😂😂😉

The title shot impressed me. From the fit to the setting, I love the element of fantasy at play.

Thank you @thatkidsblack. The surroundings were pristine, and @vintagevandalizm is breathtaking on her own. It came together so well. Those rare moments where everything just falls in to place.

Damn Kommie! That is beautiful! The atmosphere and light work so well together insane! You got some skills man :P

Thanks, @beekart! That’s why I make the medium bucks :P

Wow!! This is really beautiful.. You've got a beautiful body..

That’s not me @nmalove. I’m just the photographer, but I’ll pass that compliment along to @vintagevandalizm. I’m sure she’ll appreciate it.

Friend magnificent wrote,..marvelous photo-shoot thanks for traveling and collection ....I loved it .. another thank you for sharing with us.. keep it up

I hear you on the Apple event! I was all ready to order a new iPad Pro... I hope they’ll still launch before Christmas. Perhaps they just didn’t want to split the new A12 Chip production and of course favored the phone launch first.

James on the Colorado River I like the article. This

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29