Holly in Wonderland!

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemit! I’m trying to finish a few things on a busy mid-week afternoon. Errands, emails and @guthrie has a dentist appointment soon. I’m going to get him out of school a bit early, then for the rest of the day, the two of us will be picking up @vermillionfox and enjoying our weekly family fun day. He usually gets to choose what we do, and during this beautiful Minnesota spring weather, he wants us to go to a park and read books under a tree. I have to say, that sounds absolutely perfect. Taking a page from @eveuncovered, I just bought the first book of Game of Thrones for my Kindle.

I have some new work. A few edits I’m really proud of. In 2017, you may recall I shot with New York Times best-selling author and Playboy model, Holly Madison. It was a big moment in my career, and sadly, I didn’t feel like I reached my full potential. I was getting over being sick and we had a small [stressful] window to fit in our shoot. She was wonderful, we stayed in touch, and she even allowed me to include some of our photos from that shoot in my book, Dark Pinup, by @wcpublishing. I lamented that I felt I wasn’t at my best that day, even though the images turned out great.

Fast forward to last fall, Holly and I put a date on the calendar for another shoot together. This would be much chance to redeem myself, if only for myself. I gave this opportunity a lot of thought and I decided, a subtle nod to Lewis Carroll in an Alice in Wonderland tea party would be perfect. Holly has that Alice look already. I began planning. I knew of a location at the abandoned Griffith Park zoo in Los Angeles that could work. Through Holly’s Instagram stories, I noticed that she hikes there a lot, so I made the suggestion. She loved the idea, and the morning of, I bought $60 worth of fruit, cakes and tea.

I couldn’t have hoped for this to turn out any better. My original thought was to somehow shoot these images on top of the old lion cages. Thick cast iron bars with her sitting on top. Shortly after we arrived, so the park police blasted some kids for running across the very spot I’d hoped to shoot, and we decided we shouldn’t. I found a small, confined tunnel just above the caves, conveniently wrapped in vines and ivy. It was even better than my original concept and it was there we set up the miniature mad tea party. Sometimes these shoots just fall in place, and I’m so glad this was one of those occasions.

Thanks very much for reading. I’m really happy to share these images. The work that went in to the concept and stress to make sure everything was perfect really took a toll, but the outcome couldn’t be better. I do have more to come from this shoot. I had a chance to review the entire folder of images last night, and there are some gems that I overlooked the first time. Lots of new work coming here on Steemit in the next few weeks, so make sure you’re following me! Photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work. Thanks Steemit. have a great day!

Sort:  

looks literally like a dream!!!
awesome! <3

I absolutely adore these! I really admire how you created images that immediately reminded me of Alices Adventures in Wonderland, but not in a way that about a million people have already done. Not an easy task! You really brought your own style to it and the colours in these are just delicious! Bravo my friend.

Thank you, @eveuncovered. I love that you pick up on those kinds of subtitles. I specifically wanted this to be more of an homage to Alice in Wonderland that a blatant attempt to recreate it. I wanted people to draw that conclusion on their own, rather than hitting them over the head with it. These are some of my favorite images of 2018 and after our first shoot, I felt like I fumbled a big opportunity. This shoot made things right [...in my mind].

Love it. Would love to see you do some shoots in fantasy type settings.

your fantasies - or normal people's? :P


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

She is beautiful, I barely saw the miniature what came to my head was Alicia and I was not wrong. First, it was a good idea, although the police intruded, but this was much better.

You worked very well in placing the details perfectly, I love every photo..

Hey! I’ve seen a few posts from you on my feed, resteemed ones, but for some reason it took me until this one to click that follow button. Great shoot here. That $60 bucks was worth every cent...Although I’m sure model and snapper can take most of the credit for how these came out.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, I appreciate the follow @galenkp! I appreciate that. There was a lot riding on the success of this shoot and I'm pretty happy with the results.

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

as always Chic photos!

Kind of you to say, @mister-omortson! Thank you.

Very beautiful art. Love the composition and had to double take as I though the headline image was in the style of Lempicka. Looking forward to seeing more.....

Posted using Partiko iOS

The greatest compliment I can be paid is when someone says my photography looks like a painting, so you made my morning @cryptocurator! Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77