Honoring a bygone era w/ Ally in Los Angeles!

It’s midweek, and I’m here at @caffetto. I’m about to meet a friend that I haven’t seen in years. A writer/producer of the most ambitious interactive performance art concepts you can imagine […he once spent two years creating a choose your own adventure theatrical play called “Heroes Must Die”, where the audience, by vote, determined how the story would progress]. It’s going to be great to catch up, and as fate would have it in this serendipitous world, I’m seeing him just days before he moves to New Zealand! Coffee on the other side of the world in a few weeks is an order.

I’ve been thinking about drawing and comics nonstop. My friend @bryan-imhoff can sympathize with me on this I’m sure, but it’s a daily struggled to be kept from our iPads when you’re held back by the day job. In my case, truckloads of photography, but I’ve recently been so encouraged by the feedback from the last Steemian vs. “The Bear”. The plan has always been to transition in to comics and graphic novels, and when I see so much love for that fun project, I can envision it all being a reality. Photography still pays the bills, though, so that’s most of my day […for now].

My efforts to catch up have been fruitful, and I’m grateful for that. This is a rare time where I have three shoots worth of Steemit posts finished before I sit down to publish a blog. I try to focus on a shoot at a time so I don’t become overwhelmed, but in the short term, it’s a relief to know I’m going forward and not backward. Today’s photography is of west coast pinup, Ally. She booked one of my last shoots in LA before making my way to Viva Las Vegas. A busy few weeks in April, but I was looking forward to working with her in Los Angeles. She didn’t disappoint.

She was charismatic and energetic. Her sense of humor immediately won me over as we did a walk through of the location and discussed the shoot. She took direction well and snapped in to “model mode” extremely fast, which was good, because her cheerful demeanor would’t work with my somber, “no smiling” dark pinup style. We started and ended in the study of the mansion, and explored the various other rooms of the estate. Ally’s classic look reflecting the Old Hollywood starlets of the 40’s and 50’s. She even brought a few vintage wardrobe options that were in her family for decades.

These are just the first few images from my shoot with Ally. Much more to come, and as always, I tend to save the best edits for last. I’m looking forward to sharing more here on Steemit. I know things in the crypto-market as volatile, but I really feel like a renewed sense of optimism has rushed in to my life, at least creatively. Productivity is the most important ingredient in the formula for keeping depression away […for me at least]. Thanks for reading and supporting my work here on Steemit. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt.

Sort:  

Beautiful photos; the last one reminds me of a classic painting.

"...reminds me of a painting" is one of my all time favorite compliments of my photography, so thank you @twirble!

Hallo @kommienezuspadt, how are you doing? I think you are very happy to be able to work while writing on the steemit blog. I enjoy your writing, your routine and your photos. Your photo looks very bright even though you take it at night. Enjoy your day, sir .

I'm doing really well, @elianaelisma! Thank you. How are you? Thank you. I just incorporate more shadows than most photographers I think. The contrast of the black tend to make the light areas pop more. Enjoy your day as well.

Productivity is the most important ingredient in the formula for keeping depression away

Many can't be productive unless they are in "the mood" but I find that the mood, whatever it is, is actually a source of creativity. Perhaps there is a reason that so many artists are depressive types?

My fave from these is the last shot as her expression tells a story in itself.

Yes! When I'm depressed I can't move too. I mostly depend on that mood. I do agree with him though, but for me, being productive is acknowledging that depression and using that to be able to create a strong piece of art.. which somehow drives it away because you got that feeling of satisfaction after being productive.

I have read in a research that creatives are more likely to be depressed because they are highly sensitive ones.. they see experiences in a different perspective.

I do feel depression set in from time to time, and when I do, I acknowledge and know how to address it. It's exactly like you said, @hiddenblade. It's taken me almost 40 years to have the awareness to see the signs, and consequently, know how to keep it at bay, but it's almost always art related. Feeling depressed initially, does make me feel like I don't want to create anything, but forcing myself to start, there's typically a moment where I write something or draw something that sparks the cure. I just need to get excited about something, then it makes me run away.

The dark woods in the second one add to that rustic pose. The light from the 2 sources makes the 3rd one glow.
Nice..

@calmacs, thank you. The house these were shot in is a giant estate in Pasadena, CA and they have lamps everywhere. It's a wonderland for a diegetic photographer.

Wow. Love the colors and the lighting! The last one is my favorite. She did very well too! Gorgeouuusss!

Thanks very much, @hiddenblade. Yes! Totally agree. She was so much fun to work with.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78