Wrapping up my pinup shoot w/ Darla Deville!

Hey, Steemit! I’m glad to be sitting here working on a blog post. I had a great family day with @vermillionfox and @guthrie. I feel like the work that went in to Dark Pinup consumed so much of my personal time. It was such a demanding project, creatively, physically and mentally. I wasn’t as present as I’d like to have been during the second half of last year. I’m making up for that now that the book is finished, the parties are over and Viva Las Vegas is behind me. We all went to Lake Harriet today for a walk and a swim. Hotdogs, ice-cream and all the typical summer things. It was great.

I also like to stay active on Steemit when the price is down […way down right now]. The majority of my crypto-nest egg was earned during the dark days when STEEM was at $0.08. I was so moved by the idea of a platform, decentralized, that didn’t own my content, and rewarded me for contributing, the principle is what kept me active on the site. Even if you go back to my earliest posts, you’ll see that many of them made less than $1. Principle alone and appreciation for a creative outlet that deserved my art is what kept me so prolific. I had no idea that one day STEEM would go to $2, then $4, then $6, then $8! During these down turns, it’s healthy for me to remind myself of that.

The photography I’m sharing tonight is the last of the series I’ve recently posted with LA pinup model, Darla Deville. I’ve been working on these as often as I can since our shoot together in February. Sadly, I’ve fallen far behind with the commitments of the Dark Pinup book. Now that the release has come and gone and Viva is over, I’ve made this shoot a priority to finish. I’ve been adding images every couple of weeks and last night, I was able to wrap up the last few.

These were taken in the beautiful Gables estate in La Cañada, which has been the backdrop for many of my shoots on the west coast. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, Darla was my last client before making my way to Palm Springs to visit friends. Darla was great because, as with many girls in the pinup and rockabilly community, she was absolutely capable and talented with her own hair, make-up and wardrobe. She arrived shoot ready. I gave her a quick tour of the spaces we could shoot, and then we began.

As a professional model, she took outstanding direction. She adapted quickly to my unique style of diegetic light photography. Some of these last edits are darker than the previous photos and are definitely my favorites. It felt great to get these images to Darla and close out another client I’ve owed work to for far too long. I feel like I’m getting my life back on track, still trying to find a way to bow out of photography and focus on comics for the rest of the year. A lot of that will be up to the cryptomarket, but I’m hopeful.

Thanks for reading. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Wow the mood of these pictures!
Dark, seductive and wild!
Loving the lighting, well oriented on the model! <3

You received a 42.86% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @mamalikh13!,
join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.
Delegate to Bot and Get High Return Fix 100% earning return,
guaranteed positive ROI (15%)
bidders will always win something and it will adapt to distribute all the 100% upvote ,now we reached to 46000SP and recommend. send the 0.5 to 2 sbd or steem.
Banner-Bid-Bot-Steemit--Grande-3.png

Thanks so much @mamalikh13. Yeah, she is a great model. It’s always such a pleasure to work with professionals that know their bodies and can convey a mood.

obviously she knows what she's doing and of course you got to capture them as well.
gotta give you credits as well haha!
great work :)

You received a 57.14% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @mamalikh13!,
join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.
Delegate to Bot and Get High Return Fix 100% earning return,
guaranteed positive ROI (15%)
bidders will always win something and it will adapt to distribute all the 100% upvote ,now we reached to 46000SP and recommend. send the 0.5 to 2 sbd or steem.
Banner-Bid-Bot-Steemit--Grande-3.png

As ever — bravo! Takes me back to the Ravenloft (D&D) days. : )))

HA! Thanks. I was a diehard D&D player back in the day @steven.nam :P

Wow. Gorgeous shoot.
Glad you finally had the chance to finish this project and it's a wonderful project.
Darla is absolutely gorgeous and so perfect for this shoot.

Yeah, @joalvarez! Finishing this shoot is a big weight off my mind. I have a couple more hanging over my head that I’m trying to finish, then I’ll be able to focus on new work and comics.

It's good to go back a bit to normal! @komienezuspadt, although in the times we lived there is almost nothing normal! Everyday life and work take us so long that we do not have time to enjoy a moment with the family.
It is good to rest and spend wonderful moments after so much work ..
I hope that you, @vermillionfox and @guthrie enjoy all those small but very significant moments to the fullest! 😊

I try to keep in mind that as frustrated as I am with work and some of these situations, it’s no where near as bad as what you’re all dealing with in Venezuela. I’m back to work today @yanes94.

Yes, of course, the situation in my country gets worse every day. But nothing, we Venezuelans try to get ahead in any way, unfortunately in my case I do not have much time to enjoy with my children because I have to work more and enjoy less so that they can have a decent day to day in this madness that we live.

I hope to see more about your Comics soon and that you continue to have happy moments with the people you love @kommienezuspadt 👋😊

Ohhh, I’m amazed with your photo skills. ✨

Thanks @gabeecm! That means a lot coming from such as talented artist as yourself!

Beautiful and a lovely photo, her posture is unique and sexy and I like the sharpness and quality of the photo

Agreed @obest! She took great direction and it made the shoot so much better. The camera is responsible for the image quality. It’s a Nikon D750. There are quite a few outstanding photographers on Steemit that shoot with the same camera. @gringalicious, @dexter-k and I think @davekavanagh does as well.

It is difficult to leave the picture having so many projects that even literally touch your door, the work you do is impressive so many people see the professional level you have, because of that you are still in that world of photography, but I hope you achieve your Dream of making Comics!

Honestly, I’m still daydreaming about drawing comics constantly @gvand. I was expecting things to go to the moon this summer, especially with EOS and SMT’s launching. I mean, they still may, but I thought things would look a lot better than they do right now. I just booked more shoots in NYC for the beginning of July. Kind of a bummer, but I have bills to pay. I’ll have to kick my dreams a little further down the road for now.

Surely, that is a more common problem than it seems... but with patience always arrives, you're a good boy and I'm sure your dreams will be fulfilled soon, my mom always says "Sometimes it's better what happens", I want a lot of success for you:)

Yea that looked like a big project to finish. Slick photography as usual and glad you got to spend time with the fam! Looking forward to seeing some more of your illustrations.

The family time was great @steemitadventure. I’m hoping for a lot more of that this summer. Same with the illustration. I’m just waiting for this awful bear market to recover. I feel like we’ve been on six months of red.

Beautiful snaps

Man yet another stunning set of images. That top one where she's among the roses is just beautiful. Love the cheeky expression on her face in that one too!

Thanks very much my friend. Yeah, that one turned out great but you should scroll back through @vermillionfox’s timeline. She has a photo that’s almost exactly the same, arguably better, and she took it with her phone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87