Carrot Ginger Soup

in #photography6 years ago

619A9388.jpg
619A9369.jpg

Soup time y'all :)

Well, seems like I am becoming a big fan of pureed soups, even though washing blender is my least favorite thing to do, but . . . gotta do it.

This soup is not an original recipe, I still need to make it a few more times before I come up with my very own way of cooking it, I suppose. No worries though, I'm still gonna provide the recipe I used.

619A9360.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb carrots;
  • 3 cups vegetable broth;
  • salt to taste;
  • thyme to taste;
  • ground dill to taste;
  • 1 medium onion;
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ginger;
  • cooking oil.

Directions:

Wash and chop carrots and onion and saute them at a medium heat for about 10 minutes or until tender, don't let them get burned.
Next, add in vegetable broth, seasonings and ginger, simmer at a low heat until fully cooked. Puree the soup into a smooth mixture. Serve hot.

619A9392.jpg
619A9383.jpg

Garnish:

You can top this soup with about anything you feel like eating. Sour cream or heavy cream make a good addition, fresh dill or parsley will give it a fresh, springy look and taste.

I used ground red and black pepper, a pinch of thyme then drizzled tahini paste that I previously thinned down with some lemon juice. Sprinkle a bit of sesame seeds on top and there you have it . . . colorful, fresh and delicious carrot ginger soup!

619A9372.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF - 50mm - F/1.8 lens.


Sort:  

Is washing the blender really that hard? I usually just fill it up with water and turn it on, rinse, repeat. lol

Hahaha! It's just the blades that I dislike dealing with, always have to make sure I don't cut myself or miss a spot!

Oh yeah, I know what you are talking about! I usually have that happen with strawberries.

I am not the biggest soup fan. But once again the way You capture the food and You take the pictures get me so hungry... and now I want soup LOL

Haha thank you :) hope you can get you some soup soon, it's way tasty :D

I might have to get some ehehe

I love the look of this recipe, I love ginger, yum.

Thank you @white.tiger, I was pleased with the way this soup turned out, recommend this one if you're into pureed soups!

You have done a great job, the impeccable of each photo, shows how delivered you are to your work, I am really impressed, the quality of what you do I like, it looks delicious what you have prepared

Thanks, happy to know you enjoyed the photos!

I really really love the idea of dropping tahini and lemon juice into the soup and it looks really pretty too. Nice food photography skills - I really should get onto that. We are soup mad at the moment. Today's was lentil and vegetable. xx

Agreed! usually I would use sour cream, but I wanted to switch to something lighter. I've heard so much about lentil soups and yet have to taste that, crazy to think I've never had it haha.

Thank you very much!

That is a bit crazy!!! We grew up on lentil soup - in fact, I had Mum's lentil soup the other day as she'd brought it in for Dad in hospital to save him eating a hospital lunch!!! Bless her. So good.

Carrot and Ginger in a soup is just amazing . Carrot gives Carrots are a good source of several vitamins and minerals, especially vitamin A (from beta-carotene), biotin, vitamin K (phylloquinone), potassium and vitamin B6. Vitamin A: Carrots are rich in beta-carotene, which is converted to vitamin A in the body while GINGER gives Gingerol which is the main bioactive compound in ginger, responsible for much of its medicinal properties. It has powerful anti-inflammatory and antioxidant effects........love this!!!

Yup! Veggies are super good for you, I wonder how many of those minerals are actually in cooked carrots, probably not much at all.

Thanks for stopping by!

all the ingredients look so cute, the process is quite simple and the result is delicious! I loved it. I loved it.

Thank you @melvadg, it is indeed an easy one :)

I have made something similar. Super yummy!

Did you make a carrot soup too?

Yeah it was quite tasty, I do agree :)

I did! About a week ago.

This is a post where I'm about to get hooked up.

It looks delicious, I want to try some similar soups. For example, very seductive looks pumpkin puree soup. Have you tried? But I can't still beat this Russian stereotype that soup can't be without potatoes. Ha ha, I habitually add potatoes to every soup over and over again.

Thank you :)

Yeah, I have made butternut squash soup a couple times, which is just a different variety of pumpkin, I liked it. I think it's easy to skip potatoes once you try it a couple times, I haven't made a lot of soups since I moved to the US so it was sorta an easy habit to break!

@kotturinn, it looks like your sister's husband really likes your cooking.

Thank you @nurhayati, I hope he does!

Thank you very much sister

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91