Photography | When Can I Call Myself a Photographer?

in #photography6 years ago

Thoughts in the night

The earth is art, the photographer is only a witness

20171023-DSC00150 (1)-2.jpg

All photos are mine.


It’s late in the night, it’s dark and quiet, and I’m on my first out of five night shifts. Spending eight hours alone in complete silence makes you think. This time I’ve been thinking a lot about photography and education, and I felt like writing them down and sharing them with you. I would also like to know what you guys think about it and if you think I’m wrong. I find that very interesting.

Okay, so I’ve been taking photos regularly for almost two years now. I’ve watched photography courses such as “The fundamentals of photography” at creativelive.com, a wedding photography course and flash photography course. I’ve watched many many YouTube clips about photography, I’ve had a lot of photo-shoots, I've shot at a wedding and I’m out photographing many times a week. My Instagram feed is mostly beautiful landscape photos, and I follow great photographers to learn from the best. Everytime I go hiking, or there’s some sort of social event I bring my camera with me. A lot of what I do on a regular basis revolves around photography. But, I still don’t feel like I can call myself a photographer quite yet.

DSC09831.jpg

So what does it take to call yourself a “photographer”? Do I need a photography business and get paid for what I do? An education? I’m not sure. I do know that you don’t need to go to photography school to be good at photography. I’ve seen many people take amazing photos and are doing everything “by the book” who don’t have that kind of education, but still call themselves a photographer. In many cases these people are a lot better at it than people who went to photography school. Photography is an art form, and I think you need to have “an eye” for it. Yes, everyone can be a “picture-taker”, but you have to educate yourself and practice a lot to become a good photographer. Being able to capture a moment between two people and actually feel something when you see that picture is in my opinion, art. And behind that photo is a good photographer.

20180616-DSC06541.jpg

I really want to call myself a photographer in the nearest future, but I’m not sure what the criteria are. I know people with no education who are photographers with businesses that are doing good, so I do believe you don’t need to go to school for it. It’s possible to do it on your own. At least if your planning on starting your own photography business. Your portfolio and the way you work should count more than a piece of paper.

20180903-DSC09938.jpg

So when will I start calling myself a photographer? I don’t know. I have to educate myself more by watching different photography courses, and just learn a lot more about photography. And practice. A lot. I don’t feel like I know enough yet, and I want to be 100% confident in what I do before I call myself a photographer.

Kristin.

Sort:  

Your photographs are good enough for you to start calling yourself a photographer whenever you choose to. But I understand where your hesitation is coming from.

There are several opinions about where to call yourself a "thing" (photographer, artist, writer), and I noticed that most of the differences are cultural (at least what is visible to me). North America is more focused on confidence, Europe on quality (I don't have enough information to know how the situation is in other cultures).

By "Focus on confidence" I mean that someone would call themselves a poet or an author, even if they wrote only several poorly put together pieces that no one beside their friends read. You write, therefore you are a writer. You doodle, therefore you are an artist. You take pictures, therefore you are a photographer. On the other hand, I, and I see that you do it too, would seek for the proof/confirmation/knowledge that my work is good enough to call myself an artist/writer/whatever it is that I am doing. Because I wouldn't call myself an author if I know, or at least suspect, that I am a bad one.

But that's not your case. You are a good photographer :)

Wow, thank you so much for this comment! I love it when people take their time to really read my post and respond to what I'm writing! And yes, you are so right. I can call myself a photographer, or a writer if I want too. But when I know I'm not as good as what I want to be just yet, I won't put a label on it. I know that I take good pictures, but I also know I'm capable of doing better if I educate myself more, on both writing and photography. I want people to be amazed, and feel something when they see my work. Thanks again for your comment, I really appreciate it :) Giving you a follow my friend :)

That is some truly amazing photos so at this point I would say you are a photographer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it :)

Wow!!! It looks awesome.
Very impressive photography. Feel like you have captured the whole beauty in your camera.
It looks like,your photos decorated with colors, that refresh the eyes.
This is one of the most beautiful photography or post I have ever seen or upvoted.
Thanks for sharing this post with us.
Keep-on sharing, Eagerly waiting for your next post.

Oh, thank you so much! You're too kind!

wow.. wonderful pictures. Really.. i like these , you really have a good sense of angles and poses.

Pictures are really calm and pretty @kristinbr

Thank you so much, @deepmangal! Your comment means a lot! :)

Aah.. ah.. you deserve it dear

This all photographs are beautiful..
you made it amazing..
only one word for this "Awesome".

Thank you! Much appreciated! :)

You are welcome friend..
Please support me for win this contest..
your vote will help me to win this contest...
if you like this photograph then please vote me...
Thank you.
https://steemit.com/qurator/@tussar11/re-qurator-qurator-s-photo-friday-photography-competition-42-20180915t083640306z

Trust me that you are a good photographer. Your photo is superb.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, thank you! I really appreciate you saying that :)

Very beautiful photography,,,,Love your photography work...All the best my friend kristinbr

Thank you so much, @fatima92 :)

Very beautiful photography 💓

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much! :)

💓💓

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 8.88% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @kristinbr!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79