Spring petalssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

Hey steemies!!

Since writing this, I have finished work and got a couple of days to rest and get behind the lens but in no time it will be back to the grind (hopefully about in about 1 week or so), in the meantime, I gots to catch up on some posts and pictures. Boy do I have a backlog! I suppose that's not necessarily a bad thing but when that happens, some stuff just ends up never getting posted and dying in my photo folder to never make it passed my personal facebook page like last years museum visits😆 . Other than dandelions, we don't have much for wildflowers to photograph yet in Alberta, it was a long winter and seems like summer is having trouble getting started, except for wildfires, they are in full bloom already in northern Alberta. My first few days off started with our city engulfed in wildfire smoke. I originally posted this on weku last week.

tulip.jpg
Shot 1/60 sec. f/4 40 mm, ISO 400

Still husslin at work, for now but I might be almost done...maybe. The job is coming to an end but here I am in the last 3 standing, I suppose that's good, they might like me I guess!! haha. As soon as I'm done I'll continue posting about my trip. Working 60hrs a week of hard labor leaves me very little time to rest and I'm too tired to think or write. Time seems to fly by so fast I can barely notice. Seems like yesterday there was snow on the ground and everything looked dead, trees were bare and grass was yellow. I had to buy some flowers to get just a little taste of spring and bring some cheer back after the winter blues. Yesterday, for the first time, I noticed all the crab apple trees in my neighborhood are full of flowers. Seems like yesterday, I was waiting for the geese and ducks to return and lay eggs in a near-by park, apparently I missed it entirely and the little peeps are now hatched...I must find time to go snap a few shots before they get big, they tend to grow fast. How could time just slip by like that? Sometimes we get so busy with life that we forget the simple pleasures of living, hopefully soon I can return behind the lens and remember to enjoy the rebirth of my northern land.


Shot 1/80 sec. f/4.5 40 mm, ISO 400

One day, I was strolling on the main strip, Whyte Ave, looking for some graffiti and instagramable walls on the backstreets of my city (Yes I know I have yet to post that too, I'm terrible!). On my way, I found this quaint little shop, not a big piece of real estate and certainly never noticed it before but the bright colorful display of flowers outside of the store with a wide open door in the cold of spring just drew me into a whole new world of wonder. I still had some walking to do, I didn't get anything right away fearing it might be cumbersome to carry around but I knew that would be the making of another photography project, returning was a must.

As soon as I got home, I put them in the vase and started my project. It was a few days before my Banff trip aka Easter long weekend, my hopes was to get some pictures every day at various stages from fresh to wilting and see what I could come up with before we went on the road for another adventure. Well it didn't take long until I got interrupted and my project got photobombed by the great furry ones, turns out they were anticipating the rebirth of the land too, they love smelling flowers for some reason, I suppose they know how to enjoy the simple things better than I.


Shot 1/100 sec. f/5 40 mm, ISO 400

Rarely do I ever buy fresh cut flowers but this was a $12 well spent, I will have to do that more often. Photography is a form of active meditation for me, I can never quiet my mind unless I'm behind the lens. I suppose I don't have much more to say on the topic, I will leave you with the results as the blooms opened up and faded away over time. This obviously took a few days for it to happen but I was happy with my results and it gave me the cheer I desperately needed after such a long winter we experienced.


Shot 1/80 sec. f/4.5 40 mm, ISO 400


Shot 1/80 sec. f/4.5 40 mm, ISO 400


Shot Shot 1/100 sec. f/5 40 mm, ISO 400


Shot 1/80 sec. f/4.5 40 mm, ISO 400


Shot 1/250 sec. f/8 40 mm, ISO 400


Shot 1/100 sec. f/3 40 mm, ISO 250


Shot 1/60 sec. f/4 40 mm, ISO 640

And just like that, all the petals fell off and the tulip party was over, the day we were leaving for Banff, perfect timing indeed! Well that is it for now! Soon I will be able to get more diversity as the University garden has it's grand opening of the new addition to the garden soon that I have been anticipating for a year now.

All images taken with Nikon D7000 and Nikkor 40mm lens.

Originally posted to my weku account:
https://deals.weku.io/blog/@ladybug146/spring-petals

If you haven't joined yet, it's still a young platform similar to steemit in the sense that you earn tokens for your content. I havn't quite made an opinion on it yet, it swings back and forth to be honest. Some days it looks promising, some days it wears my patience thin, we'll see what they do with it I guess. If you would like to join, they have referral bonuses when the proper link is used:
https://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=ladybug146

Cheers! X🐞X

Sort:  

Beautiful flowers and beautiful capture of their height to demise. ☺️ 💐

Thank you! I found the results of the dead flowers kind of interesting, all the details in the fallen petals, couldn't help myself!

Very colourful flowers and photos!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84