Aquarium Project Complete! (I Love Everyonel!!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Whelp. It took me a solid week but it's finished and I have 4 very happy swimming fish!
I found this 29 gallon aquarium at the local Goodwill and could not resist picking it up for twelve dollars and change! If you don't shop at Goodwill - you really need to !! HA
About $150 layyyyyterrrr.....I had the sufficient amount of special sand, crushed coral, Texas Holey Rock (about $5 per lb.) and a nice coral centerpiece. It really was too big for this smaller size aquarium but oh well.

IMG_5269.JPG

Right after I finished this set up a guy offered to trade me a brand new 40 gallon aquarium for one of my sets of hockey goalie pads so of course! After looking the tank up online I saw it would have cost $250 in the store - the pads, I had also picked up off the Goodwill online auction store for less than $30 inc. shipping!

IMG_5268.JPG

I bought a nice glass canopy top new at PetSmart for just $24.99. I was happy to find the background on eBay for $9.99 which exactly matches the aqua~scape I planned to design. You'll notice it is a bit short on the right side because I had purchased it for the 29 gal. - no worries as you shall see! A second hand 36" matching black hood w/LED light strip which fit to perfection for a quick twentie bux and a sleek 'n sexy finish!

IMG_5272.JPG

I began by laying the 36" flexible air bubble wand on the bottom - clearly 36" wasn't gonna cut it! I also did not realize it would have an open end on either side......so I purchased a second 36" wand, connected them with a six inch piece of tubing and added an air pump to power either side ~~> VOILA!!

IMG_5273.JPG

I was not impressed by the day~glo orange jet pumps I purchased but was only offered a 50% refund to keep them. So until I upgrade they will suffice and I just decided to hide them within the decor. They will serve their small aeration / filtration purpose for now.

IMG_5274.JPG

This was an all day project I had to work quickly on while the poor poor fishies had to sit & wait in a heated bucket. The sand and gravel would need to be rinsed as I moved it (always always rinse your sand & gravel before putting it in! A 5 gallon pail works great to do this). Those bubble wands have to be weighted down to be held in place.

IMG_5275.JPG

Next ~ the centerpiece! The special African Cichlids I have seem to love it even though it's not really native to their usual surroundings.

IMG_5276.JPG

Bring on tha agua !! (Had to be added quickly to get the filter & heaters up an running ASAP)

IMG_5277.JPG

Add plants, add holey rock!
Hey the bubbles work ~ WAHOOOOO!~*

IMG_5280.JPG

Did some shufflin' with the rocks to give fishies 1, 2, 3, & 4 a hopeful, happy home! (I can't believe these plants are still alive as they sat in a vase on the counter for a week, purely an experiment to try & keep these suckers going strong!)

IMG_5281.JPG

IMG_5282.JPG

Notice the hanging plant I placed in corner to strategically meld the scenery and hide the end space ~ ah~HAH!

IMG_5284.JPG

A lot of the work beyond designing the inside of the tank was everything on the outside hidden behind from view. I bought a second surge protector with a built in LED clock and timer screen so the lights, air pumps and jets come on at 8AM and go off at 8PM while the filter & heaters operate 24 x 7. Here she is, the reveal all done and . . . . . . .
♥¸.•°”˜˜”°•.✫ B★E★A★U★T★I★F★U★L ✫¸.•°”˜˜”°•.♥

IMG_5283.JPG

Hope you enjoy my project as much as I did putting it together. If so, please kindly upvote, resteem if you care and share love with all of your family and friends in this world ~ we sure aren't here long!

Always,

STEEMIT Tools:
Steem Voter Bot- https://steemvoter.com/
Steem Help- https://www.steemithelp.net/
Steem Welcome- https://steemit.com/welcome#Upvotes
Steem Whales- http://steemwhales.com/?p=1&s=reputation
Steem Payouts- https://steemviz.com/pendingpayouts
Steen Emojis- https://steemit.com/emojis/@blueorgy/steemit-emojis-master-list

Sort:  

!! hcum OS uoy knahT ~:O)

I'm impressed with your Aquarium... Looks like you keep the Water, nice and Warm...

Incredible work and lots of patience!!
I could never set up this beautiful aquarium!! Well done!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you SO much @kaminchan! You are very kind - I learned a lot from trial and error and many helpful YouToob vids!! Enjoy your weekend bend'r!

Congratulations @lanceman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I am so grateful for your kind gesture and courteous reward, thank you @steemitboard!

Masterful job. All you need is a cat on top for decoration... ha ha
proxy.duckduckgo.jpg

Dear @lanceman

Aquarium Project Complete!

Congratulation buddy! :) It does look lovely. Great job.

ps.
I just checked to see if you're still around on steemit. How have you been doing lately buddy? Didn't hear from you in a while.

Cheers
Piotr

Thank you so much Piotr @crypto.piotr ~ if you are back - I am back! Hope you and the lovely lady enjoyed a wonderful Valentines week.

It's me again @lanceman :)

I really could use YOUR HELP :) Nothing serious really. But I still hope you can spare few minutes of your time :)

Can you open this post and write a comment: "I nominate @crypto.piotr and @help.venezuela?

https://steemit.com/dpoll/@theycallmedan/20k-steem-delegation-poll

We've a chance to win 20k delegation (for 1 year) and I hope I can count on your support.

If this link is taking to long to open, then try other one: https://steemit.com/dpoll/@crypto.piotr/re-theycallmedan-20k-steem-delegation-poll-20190218t101355371z

I would appreciate :)
Piotr

All set! Added comment to both and re-steemed! Hope you enjoy my post today on our nation's ever increasing debt - scary! ~ your friend L'Man

Hi @lanceman

It's me again :)

Please don't forget to help us :)

Competition between us and top dop (SteemBloggers) is really intense. Head to head after 4 days:

Another 3 exciting days to go in front of us :)

Allow me to remind you link to vote:
https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/?rep=33&sp=3&age=30&post_count=10&stake_based=0

Please vote on "SteemChurch". I would appreciate your support a lot.

Yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30