One of My Favorite Walking Spots in Asheville, NC

There is a small bird sanctuary at the edge of Beaver Lake in Asheville, NC.

An elevated wooden walkway winds through the trees and berry bushes, and trails veer off every few hundred feet that lead to wooden decks that overlook the lake. Many animals inhabit the sanctuary, and on any given day in the summer you are likely to spot dozens of species of birds, plus snapping turtles, rabbits, squirrels, groundhogs, snakes, and many different types of insect.

This is one of my favorite places to go for a leisurely walk in my area. Here are some of the photos I took on a recent visit.

Screen Shot 2018-07-07 at 2.41.33 PM.png

Clouds reflected on the lake's surface

Screen Shot 2018-07-07 at 2.41.57 PM.png

Shady gazebo

Screen Shot 2018-07-07 at 2.42.33 PM.png

Looking up through the slatted roof of the gazebo.

Screen Shot 2018-07-07 at 2.42.19 PM.png

A rabbit chilling in the grass. I saw a groundhog in this same spot just a few minutes before the rabbit arrived, but the groundhog frisked away so quickly I was unable to get a picture of him.

Screen Shot 2018-07-07 at 2.42.43 PM.png

The branches of this venerable old tree overhang the lake shallows. The lowest branches are at just the right level to climb up and out on.

Screen Shot 2018-07-07 at 2.42.59 PM.png

Here you can see a pair of snapping turtles. These two were both about 18" - 24" long, but I saw another one that was at least three and a half feet long. Just like the groundhog, it moved away too quickly for me to snap a photo.

There are few things more relaxing and invigorating than a walk in the woods.

I advise anyone to enjoy a walk with the local flora and fauna as often as possible!

Transparent-scroll-line-.png

Hi, I'm Starr!

I believe all human interactions should be consensual

27583361_10213307884045035_103049414_n.jpg

I love you, Steemit!

Sort:  

Amazing Post Buddy @lesliestarrohara
I am admirer of your posts!😍

thanks for the great info :)

I remember that place. It is, really nice there. Love a nice walk in the woods.

This is beautiful

Asheville is a great town. We keep saying that we should go down for another weekend. I bet is beautiful today now that it has cooled off.

Congratulations @lesliestarrohara! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

great view on that first one, looks like an ideal place to spend some quiet time

I love an elevated wooden walkway through the woods. There's a "Cedar Swamp" walk in Wellfleet on Cape Cod that's to where my wife and I first lived and we used to hike it almost every week.

There more I see and hear about Asheville the more I like it. Is it still reasonably affordable to live there or is it going the way of Austin, TX?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75