Street Photography Tutorial - The Unknown Adventure

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

sofia final (14 of 16).jpg
Street photography is often classically defined as candid photography or chance encounters with public spaces

I think that's part of it, but that's also very limiting in my opinion. I do believe there is a certain unpredictability with street photography that draws me in to the unknown. The camera has this uncanny ability to take you down paths that otherwise you wouldn't explore, and there's beauty in photographing the mundane world.

I'll dive further into how I use street photography as a way to create art, explore the possibilities of random adventures and to experiment with my own unique style of shooting. I'll use images I took from yesterday's local street photographers meet up in downtown LA.

Images in color are of the other photographers from the meet up

sofia final (9 of 16).jpg
A group of 15 photographers met at the old Bradbury building in the heart of downtown at 9:30am. There was no direction, just walk for three hours as a group and shoot. I found this to be a bit odd. What winds up happening is everyone photographs the same thing; there's less of a chance for a member of the group to walk down a different alley to capture something that lures them in. It felt forced; the eye is what leads the street photographer.

sofia final (2 of 5).jpg
Checking images he had just taken. I try not to do this, I think it's better to just to stay focused in the moment. Don't be too consumed with focus, exposure, composition after the fact. You focus on what your eye sees and you trust you nail your vision and then you move on. That's my approach.

If you worry about it too much you create anxiety and stress which might inhibit your creative side.

I find beauty in the mistake Notice my the very top image from this post, it is out of focus. But I caught a look from the girl and it works. I'm not tossing this image because it's not perfect...it's perfect just the way it is. It was in the moment.

sofia final (10 of 16).jpg

Most street photographers think the best lens for street work is a 35mm lens. I disagree completely with that. Use whatever lens is appropriate for your vision or feeling at the moment

sofia final (4 of 5).jpg
Probably a 35mm lens in his hands, but he's happy.

sofia final (4 of 16).jpg
This image was shot with a 135mm lens standing way back. If I had the 35mm, I would possibly wake the guy up.

Note: I don't like taking pictures of homeless people unless you can't see their face

sofia final (6 of 16).jpg
I did use the wide angle a few times. I have a 16-35mm which covers that range perfectly.

sofia final (5 of 16).jpg

sofia final (8 of 16).jpg

Some more wide angle shots above...

sofia final (3 of 5).jpg
I know it's not nice to make fun of people, but this street photog was armed with two cameras with a belt rig. He sees something and draws with camera right...

Having two cameras with different focal lengths is cool, but goofy looking. I know that shouldn't matter, but I'll tell you why you should be a little less camera geeky: let's say you saw an interesting person and wanted to take their portrait...you would need to ask that person for permission and explain your purpose. If you looked a little nerdy with tons of gear, you'll probably be denied.

Street photography often times becomes something else, maybe an opportunity to meet someone new and interesting

sofia final (16 of 16).jpg
I found this girl very interesting and someone that I would like to photograph. But I was with a group and that was outside their parameters.

sofia final (7 of 16).jpg
I sneak in shots...yes. Be considerate, but don't let a photograph disappear either.

sofia final (5 of 5).jpg
Another photog armed with a small camera and wide angle lens; he's rocking the inconspicuous Indiana Jones look. : )

sofia final (13 of 16).jpg
I load up my long lens and shoot architecture ...

sofia final (12 of 16).jpg

sofia final (15 of 16).jpg

sofia final (1 of 5).jpg
I walk by another member of the group and notice this street photographer copying me with the long lens. She was thinking like me...it's not always about being wide.

sofia final (1 of 16).jpg
The obvious ...right? Not great.

sofia final (3 of 16).jpg
This had the potential to be great if I looked for the right shot.

sofia final (2 of 16).jpg
Another pay phone; mundane. But the image of the woman on the phone is the one.

sofia final (9 of 16).jpg

If you liked this lesson on street put a comment and create some banter. If you're in the LA area shoot me a message and let's go shoot some street work.

Other street work that I have created specifically for Steemitother (6 of 14).jpg

This was taken at the night, same location as from the meet up.

other (10 of 14).jpg

other (2 of 14).jpg
You don't have to live in the big city to create street work

other (9 of 14).jpg
I look for the weird

other (11 of 14).jpg

other (12 of 14).jpg

Color is also a consideration

other (13 of 14).jpg
Street turned into portraits

other (14 of 14).jpg

other (8 of 14).jpg

other (5 of 14).jpg
Again, give me some comments below!!!!!!!!!

Sort:  

Nice work. I wonder if you could say more about the etiquette of asking for permission to take a person's portrait. Is there a distinction made between a portrait and another type of shot? For example, the pic of the girl who gave you that look, is that considered a portrait? Is it considered wrong to take pics of people without speaking to them?

There's a difference between grabbing a shot in the moment and asking someone for a photograph. Most people say yes when you explain why you want the photograph...you also should offer to send them the photograph. Finally, tell them it will only take a minute. Be nice.

I don't think it's wrong to take a picture of people in public without permission as long as you approach each image with reverence

Wow, this is such and amazing work.

Your post has been upvoted by CELF. A curation project for art, literature, and music, and it will be nominated to receive larger upvotes. We invite you to our discord server: https://discord.gg/fC5jcDF

You can support us by following our curation trail, following our fan base or by delegating us Steem power.

Remember to leave at least 50 Steem Power on your account

25 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 2000SP, 4000SP.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86