Colombia Meets the Beaches of Malibu - Photography Story

in #photography6 years ago

GYTB3034.JPG
"Kids don't need toys, they need kelp!" is what I told my Colombian friend, Pao. She came to visit the US for the first time and I think California made a nice impact on her perspective of American culture. I met Pao while working in Colombia last year, so when she came to LA on a business trip I gave her a tour on her day off. What's up with the kelp story you might ask? I saw some kids playing with kelp on the beach, so it was a running theme throughout the day.

Using images taken with an iPhone and Canon DSLR I will let the images tell the story.

lax.jpg

Pao is also into photography so we had some fun with images throughout the day. She flew into LAX of course, you gotta get the LAX sign and also the Hollywood sign. I love side by side images to help tell a story. Yes, some of these are black and white, just the mood I was in.

SSUB5309.JPG

The first stop on the tour was Hollywood. There's an old mansion that is now owned by the city called, Greystone. It looks over LA and is not very well known as a tourist destination.

griffith.jpg
From there we drove into to Griffith Observatory so Pao could see the Hollywood sign. It really is one of the best places to go for a view of LA. Pao had bought a new flute and I asked to her play a little. Really cool to hear her play.

Camera right is where the Hollywood sign is; Griffith Park this time of year looks like a desert.

camaro.jpg
What the hell? Some attitude? Ha!

116A8133.jpg
That's not smog, it's this weird marine layer that covers LA in the month of June. It's called June Gloom

116A8136-2.jpg This was my favorite from the handful of shots I took. Great smile.

IMG_9786.PNG
I have a small convertible so I thought it would be fun to drive along the coast. We drove from Hollywood into Santa Monica and took the PCH along the pacific 22 miles to Zuma Beach in Malibu. It's one of best drives in the USA.

BOQA4874.JPG
We stopped at Zuma Beach where you never know who you might see. Last two three times I was there I have seen celebrities. I had a beer at the same bar Nick Nolte was sitting at, and once I ran into Michael Madsen while buying beer at the grocery store. Guess who we ran into?

Above: MG
DYSH0958.JPG
Paramount was there shooting. Who could it have been?

UJYV3901.JPG
We casually walked onto the set. No one seemed to mind; movie gear was everywhere. I think Pao was thinking, "I love LA"

NELT6868.JPG
A wild animal whizzes by our feet on the beach

LQOV2212.JPG
Director chairs with a name written on them...

HWKR8484.JPG
The crew is prepping for a scene. We don't see any actors.

KDZP2450.JPG
It's Martin Sheen and Jane Fonda! If you look really hard you can see them. They were filming and I was trying not to be a paparazzi.

SPWP9270.JPG
I just love movie gear. Sorry, back to the photo essay:

HMHC2955.JPG
So we get back in the convertible and start to head back to LA. I told Pao, "Let's get out of here, this movie crew is dragging the party down"

Okay...so that's not my convertible.

CBLJ6003.JPG

So we drove back along the pacific and stopped at several little beaches along the highway. Some kid was drawing big dicks in the sand during sunset and I grabbed a shot.

IMG_9784.JPG
So we drive to Venice to hang out before Pao has to catch a flight back to Colombia.

IMG_9785.JPG
A blind man that's been playing on the boardwalk for years plays his piano.

photog.jpg
We walk the Venice Canals and snap off shots like tourists. That's about all you can do there.

lady.jpg
A woman sits in her backyard along the canal with her bird. A house lined with flamingo art litters the walkway.

NZFF8806.JPG A hippy VW bus sits on Venice Blvd asking for a photo.

116A8166.jpg
"Okay, one last shot before you go back to South America!"

116A8202.jpg
Then she flew away. One of my favorite days.

Sort:  

That car is pretty epic btw!! haha

which epic car?

I think I'd rather have the MG (and the cash to make up the difference), lol

Haha good point. I would say the blue one but there were two of those. The older blue one is a car i've not really seen before.

Cool ... I like this old cars and B&W photos here :)
And it looks there is all time warm and good sun up :)
Hi from Estonia :)

Estonia! cool...I need to visit

Jeh ... but winter is here -19 :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10