Living in Cali, Colombia - Yes, it feels like a season from Narcos

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I moved to Cali, Colombia back in October. Originally I went to visit old friends that had moved to Colombia that I knew from my Florida years. Little did I know I would be moving into my own little apartment living next door to the infamous apartment building that all the narcos lived in back in the 90's and early 2000's. Yes, the buzz of cocaine and drug dealers still permeates the air. I'll get back to why I decided to give Colombia a second try in a moment (if you look back on my Steemit feed you'll see posts about me living in Medellin in 2009...hanging with Pablo Escobar's family members)

But, first I want to dive into my passion....PHOTOGRAPHY! Shot above is of a young model from Cali; the shot was for a fashion designer from Cali and her up and coming clothing collection

The first week I was visiting my friends, Tim and Jenn, from Florida they took me to a "fitting" with fashion designer Samara Wells. I immediately hit it off with Samara and she asked me to do a shoot for her. Of course I said yes, designers typically know a lot of people and this would give me access to the real Cali that I was curious to know.

Geeky Photo Info:
I had no lighting equipment on this vacation; only:
-an old Canon 5DMKIItwo
-50mm 1.2
-135mm 2.0
-5 in 1 reflector

The above shot was pure natural light in a dark forest area in Barrio Granada. I found the only pocket of light pouring in from the canopy and fired off a few with the 135.

(
Time is a funny thing in Colombia. It really doesn't seem to exist...the most important thing is family and friends (relationships). There's no real concern about being on time and having a meeting to discuss a meeting apparently is normal. Samara asked me to come by her studio to discuss the photo shoot for her fashion show. When I showed up the model was there, her assistant, several local photographers, a filmmaker, hairstylist and makeup artist. This would be the first of two meeting to discuss her shoot. To be honest it was more of a social gathering than it was to discuss nitty gritty details. During this "meeting" we drank wine, listened to salsa music and the model was fitted for dresses to be used in the shoot. A party! My gut told me this is too cool and I needed to stay in Colombia...something resonates inside of me, this strange culture.

Geeky Photo Info* (yes this is my obsession...giving details about the shot)

I used a lamp in the studio for light. Hard as hell to color balance, but what the hell. Notice the teardrop shape below her eye. Some famous photographer told me about that about a year ago, so I decided to try it out. I'm not one for rules but now I see it all the time in the work of other portrait photographers.

()![barrio-granada_37880195201_o.jpg]
Barrio Granada

My friends from Florida started a business Colombia selling medical equipment to patients in the US. They have made a bloody fortune and their lifestyle in Colombia is like royalty in the UK. Insane. They offered me a job and I took it. What? A photographer from LA doing medical sales? WTF!? Yes, I know. We will see what the future holds. My inner me says remain an artist.

So I moved into the Barrio of Granada. A trendy wealthy neighborhood with a mix of old and new architecture. Cali is hot during the day and cool down around 4pm when the wind shifts and blows the cool mountain air into the valley. It's 365 days a years the same weather expect when it rains cats and dogs, which is frequent.

()![38864530331_702871aa36_o.jpg]

I grabbed a little apartment that has been remodeled and has a European feel. This is the view from rooftop. Caleno's don't mind the rustic nature of the city. No hot water is normal. No AC.

()![39334153971_b12012bc25_o.jpg]

A different view from my rooftop. Yes, I am single and on occasion go out on dates. I get asked to take photos...sometimes provocative photos. I am a photographer, I have a license to do this. So don't call me Harvey Weinstein. She asked me!

(this image caused a problem with an old girlfriend "why are you taking photos of young girls? You should be ashamed of yourself")

I disagree.

Geeky Photo Info

I put up Xmas lights on the roof
Shot with the 135 from the opposite end of the rooftop. Hard as hell to get a focus with the original 5D
Full moon was supplied by the moon

()
For Xmas I flew to Florida to visit my parents. On the way to Florida I stopped in my old stomping grounds of Medellin and spent Xmas Eve with my friend, Rafa, and his family. Knowing that there was a photographer from LA in the house I was asked to take portraits of family members. Turns out that Rafa's nephew is a top fashion model from Medellin.

Geeky Photo Info #3

Armed with a 5D and a 50MM 1.2
speed light with my old Apollo soft box from 2009 that had been stashed in Rafa's studio for the main light
speed light with red gel for rim light on the face

Simple, Hollywood classic style lighting and now my style.

I'm out! I am returning to Steemit. It's been too long. I look forward to the feedback!!!! I will write more about my Colombian experience if I get some feedback.

Sort:  

Great post and lovely photos :)

Glad you like it. Stay tuned for more. I have lots of content ideas.

Very excited to see you posting on Steemit again. I love your portraits. I also really appreciate you posting the 'Geeky photo info'. I have learned a lot from you (most importantly: you don't need $1000's of equipment to make amazing images)

Thanks Matt! Any ideas on what I should do...I can't seem to post. Support ideas?

not sure exactly what you are asking here... are you unable to post and need technical support? or are you asking for ideas for posts?

Very nice photos. What cameras and lens do you have? except this old Cannon and 50mm and 135mm? If you don't mind.

I use everything from the iPhone, film cameras and Nikon D800.

Glad to see a fellow nikon user on steemit!

this what I​ called woo0o0ww post. really awesome. keep posting like that. stay blessed. <3

I Will Glade Some One Upvote On My Comment.So Nice Post I Like Your Every Post I Hope Steem Will Take To You To Next Level And I Wish You More Success In Future Thanks

thanks...what inspired you to write that?

@lighten up you are a creative person, and I admire your courage, it takes one who is innovative and artistic to come out with this good piece.keep it up.

Great Post. I like the idea that just social relationships seem to hold persons attention. I think that is a bit healthier than what we have in the US or here in Israel.

Amazing you post ..

your post is very good, very useful, your post is so inspiration for me and all users of steemit, I am proud of you ... I am amazed to you, you are very fantastic in making a post, hopefully triumph in the work .. Thank you 💏😘

thanks for the kind words. I will say this: I may not be a great writer because I'm mostly a photographer. But i do strive to inspire.

Sexy photos and good shoot a photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81