Photography Lesson in the Style of the Great William Eggleston - Hollywood Blvd

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

116A8670.jpg

I got out of my Uber last night on Hollywood Boulevard and 10 knots of 108F air shot out and cracked my face like glass. Barely able to see because my eyeballs were completely dried up I smiled and said, "It's gonna be a fucking good night."

I went to see fellow Steemian @twirble who was having an art show at The Door Gallery. I hung out with the cool art goers and Hollyweird crowd in my surf trunks and flip flops. What a night for Dania's surreal and ethereal work on this hot desert night in LA.

Images of the art show are sprinkled throughout this post

116A8682.jpg
In my unfashionable flip flop attire and strapped with a giant DSLR I walked the streets like paparazzi mafia; I was in search of images, but not just any images...William Eggleston style images.

"the grain of the present, like the cross-section of a tree"

These images were shot in the style of William Eggleston in which I would attempt to capture the complexity of the mundane world. I merely shot what I saw on my walk around one city block of Hollywood Blvd, Cahuenga and Wilcox.

I let the images tell most of the story and maybe I will make a few notes along the way.

Geeky Camera Info:

I was armed with a Canon 5DSR that was loaded with a 50mm 1.2 lens

All images were shot wide open aperture priority mode at 1.2 and ISO 6400

The auto focus sucked and I missed a lot of shots

In post I added a lot of saturation, clarity and cooled the temp; in some cases I added grain and black

116A8606.jpg
She asked for a lighter and I almost said, "Sorry, I don't smoke." But then I realized I had a light and a joint in my pocket. She lit a cigarette and I photographed her shoes.

116A8585.jpg

116A8607.jpg

116A8582.jpg

116A8680.jpg
Twirble and fellow artists
116A8598.jpg

116A8666.jpg
Psychic cat
116A8665.jpg

116A8655.jpg

116A8574.jpg

116A8584.jpg

116A8687.jpg

116A8611.jpg

116A8608.jpg

116A8657.jpg

116A8673.jpg

dania (1 of 3).jpg

116A8566.jpg

116A8577.jpg

dania (3 of 3).jpg

dania (2 of 3).jpg
He's still got it

Sort:  

What awesome photos! Quirky, beautiful, raw...love it! And congratulations on the curie too!!

Quirky, beautiful, raw...and curie! YES and thank you.

You're welcome!!

Hi lightenup,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

This is the Steemit I love....human upvote :)~

Another fellow SoCalian here. I love visiting Amoeba Records. The heat is breathtaking right now though! I enjoyed your blog (sincerely). Have you checked out Employees Only on Santa Monica Blvd yet? I made a video about it. I'm subscribing to you. Check me out!

SoCalian! Employees Only....I'll google it now. Enjoy another scorcher today

Awesome night in a lot lights make more beautlful night...

Night shots are always fun


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Super rad!!!!!

You really got some great shots; a ;little Sunset Blvd in there as well. Thanks again for coming to the show; really meant a lot:)

Great show and work!

Love this post mate! Eggleston had such a great style of photograph and it's easy to see his inspiration here. My personal favourites are the staircase and the two chairs with the resting cat upon them. Good work capturing beauty in the mundane :D

Cool, someone has heard of Eggleston! The staircase made me think of Eggleston when I first started shooting. Then I just went in that direction...of course I'm no Eggleston.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68