Welcome to #Waiheke Island - a little paradise in #New Zealand

in #photography6 years ago

Waiheke - My Home Away from Home

tree.jpg

#Waiheke is a small island in #NewZealand, about 30 minute ferry ride from Auckland. The island has continuously been voted as one of the best islands in the world with beautiful beaches, small boutique vineyards and breathtaking nature. In 2015, Waiheke Island was rated the fifth-best destination in the world to visit by Lonely Planet;).

159.9.jpg

I arrived to Waiheke exactly a year ago. My plan was to work in a winery for 3 months and then continue my travels. A year has gone by and I am still here:). I think the words can't describe the beauty of this island and every day looking out of my window I can't believe how lucky I am to call this island a home (even if only for a while). Today I'm just going to post some photos I have been taking during this year. I will keep writing and posting about my life on Waiheke.

morning4.jpg
the sunrise on Waiheke - view from my window

flowerman.jpg
I'd rather wear flowers in my hair than diamonds around my neck

pigeon4.jpg
New Zealand pigeon - Kereru

surferonatangi.jpg
every now and then the surf is up on Waiheke

By the way, Waiheke means "trickling water" in #Maori language. The original Māori name for Waiheke was apparently Te Motu-arai-roa, "the long sheltering island" but at the time the first European visitors arrived it was known as Motu-Wai-Heke, "island of trickling waters".

Much love everyone <3

All of the pictures I post are my original and creative works. I do not post others photos without a proper reference. My photos are shot with a Nikon D5500 24-105 mm lens. Please enjoy my work and I always appreciate your feedback.

Upvote/Leave a comment/Follow
Thank you!

@liinavaabel

Sort:  

You started steemit with some lovely writing skills and photography.

I do support new steemians to grow up. You will surely have a great success if you do continue writing like this one. It needs hard work to get success. So please don't left in the middle, go till the end.

You can follow me for future support.

Thanks a lot @gauravgpt60 :) I appreciate your kind words and try to keep up the writing xxx

The view from your windows made my day, AWESOME! :-)

Wow, both the shots with the sheep looking back at you and the surfer juming in the air are great :)

Thanks a lot @theaustrianguy! I appreciate xxx

amazing shots!!! keep up the great posts!!

Awesome shots! Looks amazing there. Some day I'd love to see that side of the world.

Got here by surfermarley her resteem. Nice posts your creating about New Zealand. Been there for a trip a few months back. Lovely country. can imagine why your still there one year later ;)

Will follow you for more pictures and adventures at the Kiwi's :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73