Acapulco Sunsets: Funny Story About Honesty Featuring @dragonanarchist

in #photography6 years ago

This post is about honesty. Honesty with self and honesty with others.

It all started last night. I had just discovered that Rebel threw up on my blanket out of spite, something he’s known to do when he’s unhappy. I’ve been somewhat keeping him cooped up while I do my farm chores now due to his tendency to run out of sight when I get focused. I was sitting down to start posting on Steemit and I noticed I had a few Facebook messages from my good friend @dragonanarchist, one of my favourite people to chat with.

It was a response to a question I had asked her before, which was how was she doing. I like to ask that every so often because I know like me she's always running on some sort of mission, be it for herself or her family. She responded with some things ending in asking me how I was doing, of course.

Everyone’s familiar with the phenomenon of being asked that question and at least having the urge to lie and say everything is fine when it isn’t. No one wants to start a conversation off on a negative tone so I almost just responded blandly saying I was good but busy, just like her.

But I decided to be honest because I figured she might get a kick out of it and honestly she did. I am going to share some of what was said because I think it’s both funny and it proves a point. Sharing the truth even when it makes you mad is worth it.

“A bit of the same. Salty at the moment because my dog barfed on my blanket out of spite lol. I stopped taking him on my farming tasks because he runs off as soon as I focus on what I'm doing haha life living with animals xD” is what I responded to her along with some other stuff not important to the context of this story. For those who don't know, Rebel is my nearly three year old pit husky wolf mix furbaby that loves nothing more than to go crazy. I actually can't use the word crazy without him responding to it, as he immediately thinks of chasing flying objects down the mountain and runs for the door, regardless of if it's open.

And she followed with something I’ve heard from a lot of people and likely have said myself at some point in my life before I had dogs, “LOL You think Rebel really has a memory and barfs out of spite like that? If so, that's hysterical. hahaha
I wasn't sure animals could quite be capable of that LOL” Nearly every roommate I've had has said something like this, but Rebel has a way of showing what I mean.

I figured it’d make the most sense to just lay it all out so I did:

“See rebel is intelligent. When he feels sick he runs for the door and if I'm not there to let him out he throws up right by the door. Otherwise he runs outside and does it out of the way. He's always been like that. But he also has the skill to make himself vomit when necessary and he will aim it when he thinks it'll prove a point. He did it once in front of us on our bed when we moved to Acapulco. We were at the conference away from him for the first time and he responded that way. Now when I don't do what he wants he responds be vomiting in bed generally only on my blanket or pillow lol. He has been visibly annoyed I've cooped him up instead of just letting him run around out of sight while I farm.

I had no idea animals could be like that until I had dogs. My first pit would poop on John's solar panels when she was mad... Which wasn't easy to do. Rebel tore up our garden when we first moved here out of jealousy lol.

The best thing is we've had a lot of roommates here and they all start foff like "he's not doing that out of spite, he's not that smart" and then he does something like ball tap them for not sharing food and they get it hahahahaha

He gets a special facial expression and everything. His eyes take a dark tone, he looks more like a wolf and you can just see the devious thoughts rolling through his head be it to take off outside or steal some food lol

I call it his wolf guy face and when I call him on it he looks even more mad hahaha
Dogs have like the emotional capability of a 7 year old at best but 7 year olds can totally be spiteful lol”

To which I received “THAT IS TOO FUNNY” and I went from pissed to less pissed and more sad that I was going to have to sleep without my blanket, something I do not do well. The truth was it really was just that funny and his point was proven as today he got to go crazy.

I responded with this “XD it really is. It's my life but that's where I'm at lol.
My blanket is in a pile on the floor and Rebel is visibly saddened as I yelled the phrase "kicked out of bed" which is a fate worse than death” and just like that something that had me seriously pissed (don’t fuck with my sleep, just ask John lol) wasn’t that big of a deal.

While it’s not always fun to be honest about stuff like this it does help and little situations like this remind me of that. I want to say thank you to Amanda for allowing me to vent about my dog in my slightly nihilistic manner. I am glad your my friend and sad you live so far away.

So next time you consider just telling someone you’re fine when you aren’t, consider a creative way to let them know the truth or just say it if you have to. You might be surprised by the results.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Acapulco City Shots: Things Are Changing!
Acapulco Sunsets: Not Ready for the Coming Wet Season
Acapulco Sunrise: Striving for an Earlier Start

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Lessons Learned Farming Birds
How to Make Raw Overnight Oats
Acapulco's Best Kept Secret: Palma Sola Archeological Site 8

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

My dog does the same thing! Omg I thought I was the only one with a petty dog lol

hahaha that's so funny i had a dog like that too that would do things out of spite it's amazing how different dogs personality's can be lol great post :)

I think all dogs have a certain level of spite haha

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17