Disconnected

in #photography6 years ago



We all have our flaws. Attachment is my greatest one. Caring too much and too deeply even when it doesn’t make any sense. It happens, when one forgets even for a split second that we are all lonely islands. Drifting apart. Only sometimes bumping into each other. It is a lovely dream, illusion of having some sort of bond with someone. It is very soothing. Makes us feel less lonely. It is rarely close to reality.

When the illusion breaks down, we are left with the pit in our stomachs. Only the pit was there from the start. “You just haven’t met the right people yet.” What right people? What planet they come from? What universe? Where we all are the one? “Stop hiding and leave your house..” Repeat the process. Get attached. Break down. Piece yourself together. Get attached. Break down... Piece yourself together... Never attach yourself again. Let go!

Never felt so disconnected.  

Song of the day: Marilyn Manson - Cry Little Sister

Sort:  

Who is this about this time? Just thinking.. I have my suspects.

No one in particular.

......

Your "We Are All Islands" sentiments echo what I've often thought and expressed, right down to the same metaphor.

The only thing I've got to add is this: Yes, the connections we seem to like to seek out may be illusions, but as compared to what? The pit? It's just as much of an illusion. If the illusions are all that there is, then they may as well be real.

Hmm... I just got an idea. I'll tell you about it once I actually get it done... =)

Now I wonder what did you come up with, but I will be patient :)

Yeah. I think I am a bit lost in the sea and not sure where I'm supposed to drift.

Hehe... You'll see ^^

And I think... Just drift for a while... Without direction... Sometimes that is what's necessary? Just drift with the currents, feel the sun, let the storm tumble you around - until you suddenly see "Ah! That's where I'm going!" and return to swimming again.

I will say though... I miss your paintings ^^

Humans are built for seeking out and forming bonds. It's a survival strategy that worked really well for us. But it can and often does go awry in ways causing a great deal of unhappiness. Wealth and technological development correlate with people living with increased personal space and weakened bonds. I suspect we are quite flexible in this regard and that wealth and technology actually enable us to exercise a preference rather than create conditions that promote loneliness against our will. Attachments come at a price. Our ancestors willingly paid that price. Perhaps we don't have to unless we choose to.

Thank you for stopping by @markkujantunen!

Maybe they enable us to exercise a preference or maybe they carve even deeper void and strengthen our illusions about each other. Everyone paints some sort of picture they would like people to see.

I begin to think that it might be the case. Wiser not to. Less selfish at least.

Relationships has tendency to fail, people end up disappointing you time after time, taking advantage of you or see you as a granted. The only one you can really rely on is you.

Solitude isn’t punishment, it is something to embrace💜

Yeah. I just wish I did not have urge to throw myself under the bus all the time. If it makes sense. Would be much easier to just remove that part of the code or something.

Sorry you feel this way dear. Humans can be very hurtful and abusive. Not my favorite animal I can tell you, but there are good ones, I think we just tend to choose the wrong ones, experience coming through here. Lots of stuff about the people you form attachments with that fall away that I don't understand. Why do people tend to let go of the the things that brought them together in the first place? The in love bit goes to hell and then there is the wtf happened bit when it really is that easy, keep the things that brought you together alive.

Love the song

Thank you @petesays

It happens even with the right ones. Can't be that they become wrong ones like that. It happens and it doesn't have to, but it does. It is just that I always never want to let go and it causes even more pain.

Sadly people allow negative change to occur at the cost of another. People very often hurt others without giving it a second thought and very unnecessary

But when those island bump the sound they make as they clank together sounds so sweet.

Ahaha. This made me giggle lol

You got a 27.53% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

Photo Challange Bloms & Blossom of 8th-13th July. Participants’ Between (55)-(70) Reputation 1st Prize 5 SBD

In Spring, New Blooms and Blossoms start to appear

beautiful-black-and-white-bloom-414214.jpg
However, when shot in Black and White, you start to see the textures in the petals and it's this feature what this challenge is all about.

VOTING Counted after 1 Hour Post.
Partipiants Must be Between (55) to (70) Reputations

So, strictly Black and White and get in close to reveal the textural beauty of Spring!

Click Here to Participate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85