Discovering old walrus tusk ivory pieces

in #photography5 years ago

KIMG0659.JPG

Today I discovered a bunch of pieces of old walrus tusk ivory. They were for sale at an awesome store called Artist Cove Gallery, which the ravens told me about on my morning walk. (Incidentally, the raven term for walrus is 'coo coo ca choo', whereas their word for beetle is the same as their word for food: 'kaaw').

KIMG0657.JPG

The ravens didn't really want to hang out with me today because they had raven stuff to do (eating cat food that someone had apparently spilled along the roadside), so they told me to go find Steve at Artist Cove if I wanted to shoot the breeze. When I arrived at the store, I saw all kinds of cool gems and minerals, incredible works of art by locals, and Steve, who used to hang out at a farm in Wisconsin that I also used to hang out at.

While shooting the breeze with Steve on important topics such as the awesomeness of mammoth tusks and the lameness of facebook, I discovered a bowl full of old (500yrs old at the newest) walrus ivory tusk pieces for $0.40/gram, and snagged a few to try my hand at making magical engraved walrus tusk ivory pendants. Here's a couple more pictures:

KIMG0660.JPG

KIMG0661.JPG

All in all, it seemed a Saturday well-spent: )

Sort:  

That is an awesome, arcane day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75