Journeys with photography (South Africa)

in #photography6 years ago

Before i begin, I would like to introduce myself. I am an amateur photographer who lives in Pretoria, South Africa. The goal of my posts are purely to share some of the images I capture in South Africa to the greater audience and hopefully inspire those new to photography. As i am still learning, my composition and editing skills may not be that great at first, but I hope to grow with the help of the community. So i encourage all who view my work to comment on my images and point out where i could do better. This way, I can learn, and hopefully others can learn with me.

This first image i like to call 'Touch of color'. It is of an African Monarch butterfly captured on a flower in the vast expanse of dry grass. Being winter, the northern parts of South Africa become very dry leaving very little color. IMG_0422.jpg

With some fiddling in Lightroom, i decided to make the image black and white, while bringing in color on the butterfly and the flower it was sitting on, which i think made for a very interesting picture.
IMG_0422-3.jpg

The final photo I share today is probably my favorite. It was captured at sunset in a river at a hiking spot in the Ezemvelo Nature Reserve, North East of Johannesburg. I found it a bit odd that some random grass had sprouted out of rocks within the river but it did make for an interesting shot.IMG_0486-2.jpg

I do hope the community enjoys my work and I encourage you to please up-vote and comment if you do. I hope to continue my posts on a weekly basis, sharing something different each time.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem, @maddyj!

Thanks :) looking forward to being a part of this community!

@maddyj, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Welcome to Steem, @maddyj!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3144 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.8 : Rewards and Links tabs on Busy.

Hey @maddyj. Welcome to the community!!

Congratulations @maddyj! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86