CANADA Adventures Part2 (SASKATOON Farm, suburbs and lake exploring)

DSC_0839.jpg

So today I share with you more of my Canadian adventures. On the agenda today, I set out on a sunny morning and approached the dusty roads reading to the well-known Saskatoon berry farm. Driving by true farm scenery, with horses galloping lively I felt as if I was in a western style movie. Calgary is well known for their stampede and today was the first time I got the glimpse of that atmosphere (besides the cops I saw in town that wore cowboy hats). As we drove through the entrance gates, which were statues of native Americans, the excitement truly kicked in.

DSC_0872.jpg

DSC_0613.jpg

I came out of the car and was hit by warm stifling dusty air, I truly felt those desert vibes with only difference which were the vibrancy of plants and trees surrounding me, giving some ease to the dry air and some cool shadows which shielded from the scorching sun.

DSC_0611.jpg

Me, committed to wearing black even in this hot weather (didn’t seem like a wise choice now but sadly my selection of clothing included very little colour anyway) was gasping for air in desperation but thankfully managed to maintain sanity due to sheer amazement, excitement of being in this place and plenty of water supply.
I walked down the road and was mesmerized by the variety of plants and trees and also garden decoration which included sculptures of heads, native American totems and complete random diy projects which were all very interesting. Initially hearing of berry farm, I thought I would approach fields of planted berries, to my amazement the place was a lot more intriguing.

DSC_0647.jpg

DSC_0660.jpg

Fairly busy, I walked around admiring the western vibes and decided to explore some of the buildings which held lots of interesting diy gifts and items. The farm holds plenty of art workshops from pottery to wood carving, interesting for a day out to learn a new skill, there wasn’t any the time I was there and also I had plenty to explore first anyway, so admiring the artwork created by others there was more than enough for me.

DSC_0670.jpg

DSC_0732m.jpg

After much of exploring and reading hundreds of different signs on walls (I wanted to take them all home), I sat down in their café, where my focus shifted to their beautiful marble floor. I know…. Marta… chill it’s just a floor (that’s what the people I was with said), but I couldn’t help being in awe with the colours and patterns, it looked like a painting. So here we were, all three of us staring down at the floor… that’s until a waitress walking past, jumped and screamed as she told us, she thought we were looking at a spider on the floor or something. My bad. Hehe

DSC_0721.jpg
(This floor...is mesmerising)

DSC_0682.jpg

DSC_0680.jpg

I sat there having endless black coffee refills my paradise), and I thought the day couldn’t get any better…. That’s until my berry Saskatoon pie arrived. Their house special with hand picked berries from their farm land… This was.hands down. THE. BEST. PIE. I. EVER. HAD.

DSC_0713-2.jpg

DSC_0723.jpg

It blew my mind, if I wasn’t so full from coffee refills, I would probably end up getting another one.
At that point, my day was complete, anything else would just be additional attraction. I went outside to explore the end of the path crossing the farm, I was led to a place resembling mexico due to it’s workshop buildings and Hispanics coming out from gardens on their break…. And a bit of Arizona perhaps when I approached a canyon view.

DSC_0746.jpg

DSC_0758.jpg

DSC_0770.jpg

DSC_0782-2.jpg

Mind you, both places I haven’t been in yet (although I would really love to) so the descriptions are bare estimates.
I sat down on the bench facing the canyon lands, mesmerized by stunning views, admiring the hills after seeing so much flatness on a way there hehe
Momentarily…. Actually, quite frequently throughout the day I felt as if I was sucked in to a movie set. Everything seemed too pretty to be true. My gratitude for witnessing this place grew stronger each day.

DSC_0741.jpg

DSC_0658.jpg

DSC_0665.jpg

DSC_0892.jpg

On that note it was time to head home, after the drive, the day was far from over for me as I decided to go on a little biking trip to explore the suburbs and admire the grand houses (not in a creepy way at all). The sun was starting to go down and the air blew some evening wind, which was refreshing after a hot and stifling day.

DSC_0139n.jpg

I rode around different roads admiring the ‘perfect suburb’ life. As a UK resident, I found the perfection in the neighbourhoods somewhat bothering. It seemed too good and perfect to be true, I imagined that behind those perfect lawns, tidy houses with big cars parked on the driveways there was some shady business going on…. Am I the only one who sees it that way? Perhaps I’m not used to this level of synchronised tidiness by this many people…. I’ve lived in different accommodations and had my share of roommates majority of whom did not know how to use a sponge….. Everything seemed polished and new…. Again… like on a movie set, in comparison to houses that are hundreds of years old, with tiny rooms and creaking floors.

DSC_0147n.jpg

I watched people walk down with their dogs, dressed in a typical elegant suburban attire…. I have no clue why but again I found it so fascinating. So different to what I’m used to.
Finally I arrived at the lake, which was an attraction amongst them suburban houses where people would spent their weekends bathing in the waters and soaking up the sun. Of course, at this time it was empty, and I found myself fully embracing the beautiful views of sunset. The vibrancy of the sky reflecting in the lake waters. There was barely any people to be seen, everything seemed so quiet and still, I felt as if I was frozen in time. The moon was up, shining bright as the sky started to loose it’s colours and grow darker. I took the bike and headed back.

DSC_0168.jpg

DSC_0189.jpg

DSC_0209-2n.jpg

I rode around the roads, initially trying to remember which route to get back to, but ended up being stuck in a suburban maze for a little bit before managing to figure a way back. To end the day, I had the most perfect sightings of the doe, close by the accommodation I was staying at, peacefully munching on the grass field which surrounded a small forest they came from.

DSC_0261n.jpg

I managed to get fairly close without spooking them to snap this perfect memory. It reminded me of my childhood and the joys of living next to the forest, being embraced by nature and wildlife.
And that was my day! Up-vote, re-post and follow if you’d like to join me on this journey and I will see you all in the next blog!

As always, thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it!

Cheers,

Marta x

Sort:  

That marble floor is awesome. By the way, those cops wearing cowboy hats are called Royal Canadian Mounted Police. ^.^

I'm glad someone else sees it! Thank you for letting me know! I found them so cool, so much better than British police head wear lol :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85