CHESTER ZOO adventures Part2 (Orangutans, RAINFOREST PARADISE, butterfly garden)

DSC_0399-2.jpg

Here's a second part to my Chester Zoo blog I posted yesterday, if you haven't seen it yet- feel free to visit my profile and have a look first as there's some exciting stuff to read!

DSC_0356.jpg

DSC_0350-2.jpg

DSC_0371.jpg

So continuing where I left of, stepping outside the tropical jungle… the next step was …. Orangutans! One of my favourite stops! I was so happy to see a little baby orangutan peaking from behind the rock to see us! It was so adorable, along with the grown ups, who covered themselves in blankets and relaxed on a grass. I stood and watched those for a while… smiling and laughing at their dorky gestures, it brought me such joy!

DSC_0391.jpg

DSC_0346.jpg

But.. it was time to move on as I had still a pretty extensive list of animals to see. I moved on to see some more animals behind the glass, including tigers, bears, more monkeys. It was amazing, although, I encourage anyone that visits … a note must be made of the feeding times, as if you come on a random time, you’re most likely to find animals sleeping somewhere in tall grass or hidden from view which can be a downer if it’s something you were excited to see.

DSC_0381.jpg

DSC_0411.jpg

DSC_0421.jpg

I walked around more zoo paths which took me a while… I mean I could make a quite extensive list of everything I saw but I shall just focus on my favorite aspects, to stray from writing a novel hehe. I did have to take a couple of breaks to rest my legs and have a snack… another tip for traveling there- bring your walking boots, or at least the most comfy ones.

DSC_0427-2.jpg

DSC_0438-3.jpg

I think it was quite a surreal experience to see chimpanzees. I mean, they weren’t high on my ‘must see’ list, but after I saw them, I stood there captivated for at least half an hour. Their explosive behaviour and extensive communication skills made it quite a treat to observe.

DSC_0451.jpg

DSC_0454-2.jpg

Also looking at them from far away, I didn’t get much of a size comparison… until I walked inside the building to see them behind a glass and one sat by me. Seeing the chimpanzee in all its glory, bigger than me, with muscles so defined… I was actually glad there was a glass barrier between us. Walking back outside, I observed the chimps more with a bit of caution of course, since, I’m not gonna lie… I didn’t want poop to be thrown in my direction at any point.

DSC_0463-2.jpg

DSC_0538.jpg

The next stop was to another isolated building, much like the tropical place before. I walked through a tunnel archway, admiring some more animals on the way, before walking inside and being instantly stunned by the amazing hanging plants surrounding the doorway. Yes, I got excited over plants….. just try to imagine my face after I opened the door and this view got revealed….

DSC_0479.jpg

DSC_0482.jpg

I have to say, I lack to describe how much impact this view had on me. It was like green paradise. Once again, tropical birds were flying around me, while I was surrounded by stunning plants and views much like a tropical rainforest. It was stunning, the installation of waterfall especially.

DSC_0481.jpg

DSC_0515.jpg

DSC_0595.jpg

I looked at the variety of exciting animals once again, before I arrived at one of my favourite stops….

DSC_0528.jpg

DSC_0529.jpg

DSC_0533-2.jpg

The frog section. Yes, that’s was also on top of my list. I looked at different species of poisonous frogs and let my inner child emerge as I squealed with excitement. The colours were so vibrant, it was truly beautiful. I found this to bring back childhood memories of playing around the lake near a forest, catching and releasing frogs. Some will think ‘’ewww’’ some will think ‘’cool’’, and I’m okay with either because I love them. Hehe

DSC_0560.jpg

DSC_0587-2.jpg

Seeing the giraffes being fed was another spectacular and weirdly graceful experience. Those tall giants were so fun to watch as they ate leaves off branches hanging off a rope. They were so chilled, if it wasn’t so crowdy with people I could say it was a relaxing experience to watch giraffes eat. We rushed through bridges and paths as the day was setting to an end to reach our last spot – the greenhouse.

DSC_0602-3.jpg

Upon entering the greenhouse, I instantly knew that it will be my favorite place as it was much like a garden with beautiful plants and vibrant flowers with butterflies flying all around you! Yes it was a butterlies greenhouse! I can’t compare this experience to anything real, it honestly felt like a dream, a fantasy movie perhaps, hundreds of butterflies of all sizes and colors flew around me to sit on fellow plants and flowers and trees. Thinking even about this now, it still felt like a dream, it was so beautiful it didn’t feel real.

DSC_0604-3.jpg

DSC_0633.jpg

DSC_0636.jpg

I admired the variety of butterflies, watching them up-close on flowers and plants, the place wasn’t that big so I must of circled it at least three times before finally deciding to leave being a responsible adult and knowing it was a closing time (although all my senses were telling me to stay). I wish there was a bench there to just sit and watch… but then I imagine people would never leave haha.

DSC_0618neww1logo.jpg

DSC_0620-2.jpg

Upon leaving there was a big mirror to check if any butterflies landed on you, so you won’t leave with them. I personally didn’t have any land on me but speaking to a fellow enthusiast of the place who visited before, said that the blue big butterflies would often land on people and just sit. It wasn’t a season for them I assume, since there wasn’t any while I was there. But if I ever return I’ll make sure to come when they are around!

DSC_0641.jpg

DSC_0644.jpg

DSC_0646.jpg

And that was it! That was the last stop and I honestly can’t think of any more perfect way to end this wonderful day than this experience. What was a few long hours, in the end felt like minutes with a long journey waiting ahead to get home.
It was a great experience, and although the price was quite high I can say it was definitely worth the money and the drive, to experience this place at least once! Do come prepared however, to make sure you have to most pleasant experience possible and it makes the money worthwhile.

DSC_0651.jpg

DSC_0652.jpg

The drive home was long, but also stunning, with the gentle views of the sunset gleaming behind the hills. I hope you enjoyed this blog post and adventure! It was such a lovely day and I’m glad to share it with you all!
Feel free to upvote, resteem, follow me if you’d like to see more blogs!

Thank you so much for reading,

Cheers,

Marta x

Sort:  

Amazing photos.. :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86