First BOUDOIR Photo Shoot! In a magical Hotel !

6watermarked.jpg

This photography project was inspired by Victoria’s Secret campaigns. I don’t normally shoot boudoir, but thought I would give it a try, I mean we all need to try something new from time to time... :)
Victoria’s secret campaigns are normally portraying women in an angelic/innocent and pure way, using soft lighting, bright color palletes and bright locations. What brought my attention was campaigns that portray these models in a darker way (what a surprise…), through more provocative choice of underwear, locations and light set up. They are portrayed in a more sexualized manner, but strive with confidence and power – owning it rather than conforming to it. I was drawn to that topic and thought about exploring it in my own way, as strong women are often the main subject in my portrait photography.

1watermarked.jpg

Planning took about 2 weeks, I produced a moodboard, outlining ideal setting, outfits, poses and lighting… and that’s where it all began….
I managed to find suitable models through an agency, fetched outfits that were on sale in shops and also through ebay. I managed to find a suitable make-up artist. Then planned my lighting set ups and a list of equipment needed.
The main and hardest part was location scouting…. Wow, I mean, I don’t even remember the number of suitable hotels I called, just to be turned down. Majority of hotels strictly prohibited any photo taking and since I couldn’t publish the photos unless I had a ‘location release form’, my hands were tied. Another factor that played into it, was limited funds. I was going on a pretty small budget, and so was searching for the cheapest option possible, which didn’t make things easier.

2watermarked.jpg

Then…. I found it…. The ultimate gem…. A hotel, which was located 1 hour and 30 mins away from me. It was over a 100 years old, it has beautiful, classic interior with stunning furniture. I was stunned! I called and called and didn’t back down until I reached the manager – who AGREED! I was jumping from joy!

DSC_0013btsneww.jpg
(Behing the scenes shot)

When we got to the location, I have to say that the age of the hotel was definitely visible… creaking floors, a bit of broken walls…. But guess what… I liked it! It has character and boy....the rooms were stunning! I mean I felt like I was in a magic castle! I spoke with the manager, who was a pretty cool guy…. he welcomed me in slippers and a bathrobe, which I found awesome haha! He showed me around the place, allowing me to use best rooms within the hotel. Again, Amazing guy!

4watermarked.jpg

The shooting began! I had an assistant helping me out with reflectors and fetching us coffee and snacks. We began in the meeting room and made our way across the hotel, changing outfits and adjusting looks.
The gear I used was a Nikon D300, a 24mm sigma lens and a 50mm sigma lens. I also brought a speedlite, umbrella for external light source and a gold reflector to enhance warm tones.

5watermarked.jpg

We started at 9am and finished at 5pm. The day was long and I was exhausted at the end of it. But being in this magical, creaking place definitely was worth it. My team was absolutely wonderful and so fun to work with…. And having a coffee on photo shoot set was a highlight of my day….. so yeah, the assistant who brought me coffee, completely stole the thunder that day! hahhah

7watermarked.jpg

Noww with the aims and outcomes of the photo shoot…. Just in case we have a creative in an audience or someone wonders…
During the planning stage for the collection set, I aimed to portray women in a luxurious and classic sophisticated lifestyle. I arranged the images to be taken in a specific order to give the collection a sense of unity and consistency. The images follow a similar theme of using colours, postures and angles to create a dominant expressive woman, which in turn is aimed to connect with the audience.
The body language of the models while wearing the lingerie was aimed to show that no matter what time of day from the morning, midday to the night can make them feel empowered and give them confidence.

DSC_0056btsneww.jpg
(Behind the scenes shot)

I made sure to inform models of the scenario I was trying to follow, asking them to imagine that they are owning this place like it’s their own house, owning their space with confidence and power.
I aimed to portray the attributes of women feeling more passionate, sexy, empowered and confident while striving with elegance, and I believe I achieved my goal!

8watermarked.jpg

Anyway, this place is on my list for future projects and when I think about it I can’t still get over it’s beauty … It was a pretty amazing day and I made some precious memories! Hope you will like these photos and have enjoyed the post!

All the best!

Cheers,
Marta x

Sort:  

Nice. What camera did you use to take these lovely shots? It appears you used a sunlight filter as well.

Hi, I've actually involved my gear info in the post :) I used Nikon D300 and in terms of warm tones, it was done with bouncing the light from speedlite with an umbrella, using a gold reflector :)

Ah, yes I see it now. :)

These are gorgeous photos and I appreciate the dialogue explaining your vision. Cool post!

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Congratulations @martaesperanza, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1995 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $574.43. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89