Adorable Duckling Photos: Introducing Smokey and the Banducks

in #photography6 years ago

Ducklings are the most adorable little creatures and I'm in love with four of them. We got our ducklings last week. It only took a few hours before I was attached to our girls. Naming them hasn't been an easy process. I'm not the kind of person who picks cutesy or silly names. I really think hard about it and give animals names that sound cool and fit the animal.

My husband's favorite movie is Smokey and the Bandit. We have a cat named Snowman which is a name from that movie. We decided two of the duckling would get the names Smokey and Bandit. Every time I walk past their brooder in the kitchen I say "Hey Banducks" out of humor thinking about the movie Smokey and the Bandit.

Smokey

IMG_3953 3.JPG

IMG_4264.JPG

IMG_4263.jpg

I think Smokey and Bandit imprinted on one another when they were born. They don't like being separated. They are always together. Both are Black Swedish Ducks. They look very similar but they have noticeable differences. Smokey has pure yellow on her chest. She also has yellow on the tips of her wings. She is more timid than Bandit and gives me a hard time holding her. Both Smokey and Bandit are playful. They like to pick on other ducklings when they are sleeping. I see them both biting other ducklings when they nod off to wake them up. They run around and are extremely playful when they get in water.

Bandit

IMG_4271.jpg

IMG_3947.JPG

IMG_4259.jpg

Bandit is less timid and lets me hold her. She is a sweetie and my husband's favorite duck. He's claiming her as his duck. Smokey and Bandit are very much a team and if I take one out of their pen, the other chirps really loud crying for her sister. It's very sweet the two are bonded so closely.

Reese

IMG_4123.jpg

IMG_4279.JPG

IMG_4213.JPG

My little Reese's peanut butter cup is a scared little girl. She's the most timid of all the ducks. She got her name from two inspirations. First, I love the show Person of Interest. The main character is Reese and I really like the name. This little duckling also reminds me of the color of chocolate. She's brown and when fully grown with be dark and light brown. Reese seemed to fit with the chocolate image in my mind. She freaks out when I try to hold her. She doesn't like it when I remove any of the other ducks from the brooder and she chirps for them to come back. She is very close with Smokey and Bandit. She a beautiful little duck and I really hope I can get her to bond with me instead of being terrified.

Sammy

IMG_4267.JPG

IMG_3952 2.JPG

IMG_4257.JPG

Sammy is the largest of the ducklings and most brave. She lets me hold her fairly easy and is a sweet girl. She will be the only pure white duck and she is already losing her yellow color near her tail. She seems to be the leader of the ducklings. When she sees me she'll chirp and alert the others that danger is near and they all run to hide. She is independent and the only duckling that will lay off on her own. She likes to sprawl her long orange legs out. Another favorite TV show of mine is Supernatural so she is named Sammy after one of the main characters.

For those who want to see video of the ducklings

Sammy answering the cry of Reese

The BanDucks in their brooder

Sort:  

a cute little duck, in my area has a lot of maintenance of this type of duck, in addition to the eggs it produces its very much, and of course many advantages that we get. thanks have shared.

You went with Sammy, eh? That fits. They're cute, but their heads look so big compared to their bodies at that age!

Love the video :D

Sammy was the first my husband and I could agree on that fit her. Their heads look big and their wings are so tiny! They grow fast though. Compared to when we first got them, they're way bigger. Only 5 more weeks to enjoy babyhood.

Well, for the record I think you're either should have gone with Frog or Sally.

Still, those are great names.

Smokey and the Bandit is one of the few movies that can be watched again and again without ever getting tired of it.

I'm glad that they continually play Eastbound and Down at my job because I always feel good hearing that song.

We started to name the brown one Frog but it didn't really fit. Eastbound and Down use to be my ringtone for my husband. It's a song I never get tired of. Jerry Reed is one of my favorite singers.

Esa mirada de smokey esta muy seria jajaja en cambio la de bandido es todo lo contrario, bellos.

Duckling Photos are amazing i love the black one.

These are Adorable Ducklings,thanks a lot dear,have a nice day.

Super cute ducklings. Good choice on the names, they sound delicious. They sure look happy, I'm sure they're going to bring some sunshine even on a rainy day.

Eventually all the ducks have names. I see them so happy. Nice names smokey, bandit, sammy and reese.

Yep, just too, too cute...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77