Making Abraham Lincoln Out Of Pennies

in #photography5 years ago

Back in November my husband and I went on a trip to visit touristy places like Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies. If you ever visit Tennessee, it's a pretty cool place to go. If you've heard of Ripley's Believe it or Not, they own quite a few businesses in Gatlinburg, TN and they are all neat in some way. Their aquarium is a place I've been many many times since I was young.

I hadn't been in around eight years. Since then, the aquarium has expanded to include an area dedicated to ship wrecks and US history. One section has plaques and exhibits from the Civil War. Randomly, they had an Abraham Lincoln exhibit but it's not clear how Lincoln fit into an aquarium other than for novelty effect.

In the Lincoln area, they had some art and a life size replica of Abraham Lincoln you could take pictures with.

Lincoln Made Out Of Pennies

I've always been a bit impressed when people can take a bunch of something small and use it to make a large image. Below a bunch of pennies have been used to make Lincoln's face.

IMG_0117.JPG

Far Away You See Abraham Lincoln

IMG_0116.JPG

But Close Up What Do You See?

IMG_0118.JPG

Someone really put a lot of time into collecting all those keyboard keys and arranging them to make a face. I think I appreciate the keyboard key version of Lincoln compared to the penny version. Pennies I've seen done before. They have his face on them so it was a bit predictable and unoriginal. The keyboard key idea I hadn't seen before and I thought it was much neater and unexpected.

People are very talented to take something small and make big art pieces with it. I enjoyed this section of the aquarium and the unique art they had.

All photos are my own and taken by me @marxrab

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

Wow those are really cool looking!

Thanks. They were neat to see in person.

I havent visited a Ridleys for quite a few years now but they do have such interesting things on display

But those two pieces are amazing the creative minds that come up with these

They really do. I'd love to go to Ripley's museum again someday. They have lots of fun things to look at.

Me to if it wasnt for the fact that the closest one here is in Times Square with all the crowds I would, but I do hate crowds

Yeah I was so impressed with them, I would visit the one in NYC, but its in times square and that gets so busy I hate going there and having to deal with all the crowds

Extra credit if the "keyboard" actually works! I bet the penny one is a little on the heavy side.

There's a restaurant in Rochester, MN, where they made tabletops out of pennies in interesting patterns, sort of like that. They covered them with heavy glas, and it's a cool effect.

I didn't think of that but yeah I bet those pennies are pretty heavy. I remember having a 1000 piece puzzle a long time ago like this with tiny pictures making up a big picture of a Elvis. They only puzzle I gave up on lol. Thats a cool idea about the tables. I saw on pinterest someone covering a kitchen floor in pennies. I'd never have the patience to do that...or the pennies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64158.52
ETH 3293.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.46