Taking My Daughter To See The Christmas Lights

in #photography5 years ago

I really enjoy after Thanksgiving when Christmas decorations pop up everywhere. This year Little Rabbit and I were treated to a nice light show in an unexpected place: Lowes. I needed to pick up a small heater for my duck house and some cinder blocks to build them a safe place to put the heater. As we walked through the door to Lowes the Christmas decorations were right in front of us.

My Little Rabbit who is only two was fascinated. She kept trying to escape the buggy to go look. While my husband went off to do his own thing, Little Rabbit and I took a slow walk through the Christmas department.

IMG_9145.JPG

IMG_9139.JPG

My daughter was really interested in all the lights and objects. I stopped and let her touch things that weren't breakable. It's amazing what kinds of yard decorations they have these days. They come in so many shapes and sizes. You have to lots of money to afford them though. Super cool Christmas decorations don't come cheap.

IMG_9140.JPG

As a kid we had a tree with colored lights and I always loved lots of colors. Then, when I was older we lived with my great grandmother and she preferred white lights so from that point on we always had white lights in our tree. I always missed colored lights and thankfully my husband prefers colors too. He picked up some purple lights when Halloween stuff went on clearance so our lights for this year will be purple. If I can find the white lights we used for our wedding maybe we'll decorate with white and purple.

IMG_9147.JPG

I've never been a big fan of inflatable decorations but I can see why some might enjoy them. They come in so many neat shapes and sizes. Narwhals are really popular these days and I see them on t-shirts, coffee mugs, and now Christmas inflatable yard decorations.

IMG_9150.JPG

I liked this one best because it made me laugh

IMG_9151.JPG

Decorations up above our heads...

IMG_9143.JPG

so that Little Rabbit had to tilt her head up to see everything.

IMG_9138.JPG

It was a fun moment with my daughter. I was planning a quick 15 minute trip in and out but she seemed really happy looking at all the lights and fun stuff. Sometimes you just have to slow down and enjoy living in the moment. This is the first Christmas where my daughter is aware of things and curious. She's now old enough to open presents and is easily excitable. She's going to be so much fun on Christmas morning.

This will mark the first time in the 9 years my husband and I have been together that we have a Christmas tree and will decorate. Before we were college students and nomadic so we didn't see a point investing in a fake tree when we'd just have to move cross country at some point. Now that we have Little Rabbit we are excited to have our first family Christmas tree. My husband is looking for a cheap Santa Suit so he can dress up for Little Rabbit and our niece on Christmas eve. Fun times are ahead. Christmas is my favorite holiday and now that I have a kid I'm going to make it as fun for her as I can.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

An indoor Christmas show, eh? Lowes... Who knew! I was actually thinking that the crazy light show might be up in Mankato. It's outdoor, though (brrrrrr!). On the bright side, there is also a petting zoo with ponies for children. In case you get bored and want to drive to Middle Of Nowhere Minnesota! lol Looks like you had a good time at Lowes, anyway.

Building memories!

Seeing Little Rabbit and imagining her delight at the lights in Lowes put a smile on my face, thank you. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82