Afternoon Tea Inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

in #photography6 years ago

It’s no secret that I enjoy quality time over some afternoon tea. A friend of mine invited me for a catch up whilst in London recently and I had the pleasure of visiting One Aldwych for what is described as ‘scrumdiddlyumptious’ afternoon tea!

When I was growing up in China, I enjoyed reading and watching western classics for children. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a story that I have great sentiment for and the 70s movie, Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory is one of my favourite watches. Uncovering the golden ticket for entry to the enchanting world of Willy Wonka and meeting the Oompa Loompa family are vivid memories to this very day. So when my friend mention that One Aldwych host a Charlie and the Chocolate Factory themed tea party, I smiled with glee.

Arriving at our seats, one immediately feels a sense of subtle luxury as the chairs can be described as grand and most comfortable. A Roald Dhal themed tea party made me really wonder what to expect this afternoon and I was pleasantly surprised. The menus on the table were unique and illustrated with various families of the golden ticket winners. Here we can see the ‘Teavee’ family. I remember this character acting as the rather aggressive and outrageous child.

The rest of the décor was elegant and had just the right splash of colour in places that made this a very interesting adaption of the theme into an afternoon tea setting. After a few minutes of scanning through the menu and placing an order, I was eagerly awaiting what would be placed in front of me today.

The tea was served as a matching set. Brewed just the way I like it. I don’t think much could be done here as tea is exactly what it is meant to be. There were a number of other colourful drinks and liquors on the menu but wanted to catch up over a warm helping of British tea.

The next part of the order is where the theme really comes through and one cannot help but smile at all the sweet treats on offer here. Scones, pastries, fruit and even candy floss are all here. The confectionary choices are wide and far, there was simply too much to choose from. I have quite the sweet tooth and every bite was a delight. The fruit platter perhaps made me feel a little less guilty for indulging in these pleasures.

The centre of the serving holds two golden eggs and instantly reminded me of the goose laying scene. The cheesecakes, brioche and other desserts were an absolute treat. The miniature chocolate milk bottles were a touch of nostalgia and brilliance.

The afternoon was beyond pleasant and I really appreciated that even with such sweet helpings being served, the taste was never over powering to make one feel too sickly. I loved this unique afternoon tea theme and I hope to see more pop up.

Sort:  

Congratulations @maysun! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76