Iceland’s Blue Lagoon Spa

in #photography6 years ago

Iceland is full of wonders, during my time in in Reykjavik I decided it was time for a day of self-loving and pampering. In China it’s quite common to let ones hair down, get our nails done and a massage to loosen up. The Blue Lagoon Spa is one of the must go to places for some pampering and I couldn’t miss this opportunity. I set off to transfer from the capital to Blue Lagoon.

After about an hour of commuting I was finally at my destination. The Blue lagoon is a touristic venue that sees many visitors bathe within its warm waters. It’s a manmade facility and receives its heated water from a nearby geothermal plant. This is the largest of its kind in the world and ingeniously uses lava flow to create power and heat water.

As I approached the lagoon, the cold air of Iceland quickly dissipated. The steam floating atop of the warm waters carried a humid atmosphere and a light scent could be smelled in the air. The waters at the Blue Lagoon are rich in minerals and can be used to treat a number of skin related ailments. The high content of silica and sulphur (often found around volcanic sites) carry a number of healing properties.

The Lagoon was not as busy as I thought it would be and I swiftly walked down the ramp into the waters where I settled into its warm waters. My whole body was encompassed by these rich minerals and the heat instantly opened up my pores. As I looked in the clear skies, the snow covered mountains made this a truly wonderful bathing experience. There was even an in water bar to keep hydrated.

The water temperatures are very warm here and while leisure swimming is allowed, any strenuous exercise here is prohibited for good reason. If I found myself being exhausted here I would probably pass out. Luckily this was a relaxing affair and I found a vacant spot to float on my back for a while.

After some leisure bathing, I decided it was time to move away from the crowd and head to massage area. This was no normal massage, it was actually an in water massage that is given while one relaxes on a provided massage bed/float. I was a little wary about this experience and didn’t really know what to expect. Fortunately my therapist was amazing and the next two hours at the spa was something to be remembered. Mineral oil was applied through the massage and by the end of the treatment I was left reenergised, nimble and detoxed.

To finish off my day, I had a brief stop at the sauna and steam facilitates. This was a perfect way to conclude a most revitalising experience and the Blue Lagoon. For anyone looking for a day of pampering, the Blue Lagoon may be an experience not found anywhere else on Earth and I highly recommend a visit if time permits.

Sort:  

hello maysun,really appreciate post,can you tell me what is the minimum temperature of this place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34