Dear Lord back-up your computer and pictures!

in #photography6 years ago

I wrote about how my desktop crashed last week.  

I still keep a desktop because I keep a 22 inch monitor with it, and with the 2 TB extra hard drive made it designed for video and photographs.

Currently I am using my Lenovo laptop, which I use for writing at Starbucks and in the living room, and I backed my stuff up to an external hard drive that's big enough to hold a decade of photographs.

I use Lightroom to keep my photos organized, and I was not perfect with backing up that catelog.  Which means photos over the last few months I took still exist, they just aren't cateloged in Lightroom.  Which means, I have several hours of refinding photos.

But I found photos from the day my daughter was born, and that was a good reminder to back your stuff up into the cloud.  You never know if your hard drive will fail, get lost, or your house burn down.  But backing them up to the cloud keeps the housing burning down scenario from erasing decades of memories.

I use Crashplan, because it could handle the amount of data I needed.

But I as I was refinding pics, I found the photos of the day my daughter was born.


Back your stuff up!

Sort:  

you are absolutely right, back up your data is wise decission forever.

Thanks for sharing your beautiful baby girl!! Precious pics. :)
Joy

My daughter just lost her phone. Lol. I miss the old days of the polaroid cameras. Instant pics..no problems.
Joy

I recent lost most of my files so I know how it hurts

Pictures tell a lot of stories and hold a lot of memories. I can imagine the warmth you felt when you found that picture. Thankfully I still have my pictures.

And yes, I'm backing up my files. I use Google Drive though

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94