📝 Columbian Exposition : Columbus & Europe | 11 Photos

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Over the next month I'll be sharing first draft chapters from a book manuscript I'm working on about the Columbian Exposition. This is a way to both preview and promote the concepts along the way. I'm glad to share this work while I continue to craft the narrative along the way.


12-31.2.jpg

I'll be removing these chapters before payout but you can get a look at the original Twitter thread here.

Thanks for reading!

Connect with me on Twitter

Sort:  

Is any of this still standing? I read somewhere that a lot of these exhibition buildings were torn down afterwards. Looking at the Austrian building and where it was standing make my hope it is still there. And the fantastic statues! I hope they got to museums somewhere, even if they did not stay in place.

The Art Palace was constructed to remain as a permanent structure and now houses the Museum of Science and Industry

That's good to know. I would hate to see it lost to time. You have a very interesting project going. Best of luck for completion.

Appreciate it - all the chapters I'll be posting here are already complete. Working on the next draft version this week. Glad you like it

Hi mdf-365,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Always appreciate a Curie nomination - I'll be sharing more posts in this series throughout February. Thank you for the recognition.

Congratulations @mdf-365! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Fascinating. I'm looking forward to reading your book chapters. Columbus is quite a controversial figure, but his achievements cannot be denied.
Empires and ex-colonies alike should learned from his candid writing accounts. Even those who criticize him keep making his own mistakes.

He definitely is but you're right, what he did happened and it can't be ignored.

I've never read any of his original writing but I agree that it would be interesting to have a look. Thanks for taking a look. Intending to load up more chapters soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37