In Munich- then and now

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Olympiapark München in Munich, Germany, is an Olympic Park constructed for the 1972 Summer Olympics. When @uwelang posted photos of his visit to the top of the tower there, Uwe's Olympia Park post I was reminded of photos I had taken in 2004.

![image]()
![image]()

Can you find any changes from @uwelangs photo taken recently from my photo in 2004?

image

photo credit-@uwelang

And my old photo- taken in 2004

image

And a couple more old photos in the park...

image

image

image

The 1972 Olympic Games will probably always be remembered for the murder of eleven Israeli Olympians. A day before the Games were to begin, eight Palestinian terrorists entered the Olympic Village and seized eleven members of the Israeli Olympic team. All 11 were murdered.

And remembered for Mark Spitz winning seven gold medals. Spitz set new world records in all seven events he competed in.

image

But the Olympian Hall holds some fun memories for me, because I visited on my birthday and watched Cher's Farewell Tour in 2004!

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

That is fab, thanks for the comparison, appreciated- not a lot had changed it seem - less trees around the BMW building, apart from that a quite stable environment - Germans are not made for a lot changes it seems. Resteemed this.

The only big difference I could see were the trees and the roof garden at BMW is impressive! Thanks for the resteem! It is appreciated!

Interesting post @melinda010100. I'd forgotten about Mark Spitz overshadowed as he has been by Phelps in recent years.

The swimming pool looks stunning! Does it still look like that do you know? 😊

I do not know, but it is so magnificent, that I suspect it is much the same.

This park looks really beautiful, the architecture is extraordinary ... I see everything very similar in the two photos ... I hope you have a wonderful day Melinda

A wonderful day, indeed! I could notice that many of the trees are much bigger in Uwe's photo. Hope your package arrives this week! Amazon was unable to ship everything I wanted to send, but that's ok. I'll just have to send another one soon!

Thank you very much Melinda! Quiet, thank God I've done quite well in steemit and I've been able to buy some things, only sometimes you have the money and you can not find anything. I appreciate everything you do for me ... You are a wonderful woman ... My mom and I send you many blessings ♥

Woww!! So unique architectural design..beautiful.

Isn't it incredible?

heeey. my dear friend.
I miss you.!
These are great photos. very magnificent buildings and excellent travel post!
congratulations.

Thank you, luv! I am happy to be back. My kids were here for the weekend, but I should be back to my usual Steemin' schedule this week!

My maternal grandma's family is from Munich 😊

It is a lovely city! I have been there twice, but didn't get to spend enough time there on either trip. So much to see and do when you explore new cities!

Splendid architecture Melinda and a very sad story.

I remember when that happened. It was so horrible.

I saw some movies but even so it's horrible.

@melinda010100 I couldn't spot the differences between your photos and the ones taken by @uwelang, but all of them are majestic. Although I lived in Germany for more than a year I only visited places around Stuttgart and glad to see the Schwarzwald and Donauquelle which I liked the most.
Probably because I was born in a small town near Danube where I'm currently living.
Followed you to see more of your great photos! Have a great Sunday evening!

Happy to have you as a new friend!

This looks like a great place to visit.
I have added you to my steemvoter list.

How kind of you, dear Rebecca! I need to go check mine and make sure all is well with it now that I have my account back! Thanks for the reminder!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17