Island Day Trip

in #photography5 years ago

8

Haven't been in the best mental state these last couple of days. But me and my mum went on an island trip during Mother's Day, so that was pretty nice :) The weather was absolutely gorgeous. We went to Manukan Island, about a 15-20 minute boat ride from KK City (Kota Kinabalu). It's usually packed with tourists but we were lucky to have so much peace and quiet (and space) for the day.

3

10

2

7

The waters were crystal clear that morning, save for some washed up seaweed. There wasn't as much fish as there use to be, probably like 5-6 small schools around, but I got to see a
Bluespotted Ribbontail Stingray
while snorkeling! (A rare spotting for Manukan Island these days) It was an amazing moment, and SO beautiful to see up close. I also made some furry friends while having brunch :)

5

9

The tide was high all morning and the waters were starting to get cloudy from all the boats coming to and from the island, so we got out around noon to wash up and head back to the jetty for our boat right back. You can see in the third photo below just how high tide we're talking about :P As much as I enjoyed the trip, I have to say I'm sad to see all the corals die out.

My family's always been long-time island go-ers ever since I was a little kid, and I remember how you could see the coral reef with so many colourful fishes just under the jetty and running along around the island. There are probably still some coral reefs deeper in the waters, still, it's such a shame to see all that beauty gone. All you could see now if you swam around not too far enough from shore is just yards and yards of dead corals.

There were even a bunch of trash along the beach and some floating around in the sea that my mum and I managed to collect and dispose of properly. I hope with all the scientific and technological discovery today, that the reefs will be restored some day.

4

11

1


Taken with my Sony Alpha A5100 and Sony 16-50mm f/3.5-5.6.

--

Love,

4

Sort:  

It looks like paradise there, so relaxing and the sea looks so calm and beautiful:) Next time say hello from me to your cute litte furry friends:)

It is! One of the many beauties of Sabah, Borneo. xD I hope I'll find them strolling around again the next trip there. Are you a sea or mountain or road trip kind of person? :D

It looks very beautiful, like paradise. I am more of a sea person and all of my get aways are somewhere near the sea:)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @melissamyra! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76