A weekend of Smoke and Grenades and long exposure photography

in #photography5 years ago

Over this past weekend, I finally had the opportunity to experiment with smoke grenade photography. Matter of fact, as of 3 weeks prior to the weekend, I hadn't even heard of it! After one night, one day, and four grenades later, I'm soo far from perfect that I couldn't imagine it. But with time and patience, I'll get what I want. And I'll have fun along the way!

Starting out at night, we explored our city seeking out a perfect spot for it. Not knowing much about it, let alone about it at night time, we wanted a decently lit location and we also busted out our spotlights for a more ideal lighting situation. After much walking and exploring, we found ourselves on a pedestrian bridge connecting over some train tracks in the city's North End. From there, this is what we got.

IMG_0102.JPG
IMG_0108.JPGIMG_0121.JPG

With specific imagery ideas in mind, come behind the scenes photos as well, a fun perk from time to time.
IMG_0193.JPGIMG_0260.JPGIMG_0246.JPG

Seeking perfection comes ALOT of mistakes too. Trial and error. After the bridge location, we moved to a tunnel. In the tunnel, with our spotlights lighting it up, dodging trains, was still a bit too dark and didn't turn out how expected;IMG_0351.JPG

So, simply put, I need ALOT more practice. Took some time in the daylight as well with my son and had more fun than success, but practice. And practice is key.

IMG_0775.JPG
IMG_0599.JPG
IMG_0773.JPG

Thanks for the read, and get out and explore your city!

Sort:  

These things look like so much fun, and the photos you took look absolutely sick and baddass! Smoke can look just like fire! And the blue with the mask looks so good it looks like it couldn't even be real X'D The smoke weaves so perfectly.

Awesome job!!

Thanks so much! It's so fun experimenting with new ideas. Interesting how things turn out.

Hello, what a great photos you have here :D
I have strong feeling that You'll be doing great in this platform. But this steemit platform is basically good for engaging author. So, it would be great if you drop some comments here and there (no spamming), it will help your account grow, since you already have awesome materials to share in this platform :D

Thanks for the tip, and thanks for the like. I will keep that in mind when it comes to interacting

Hi mikeheinhold,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I have heard about this technique earlier this year when I went on a photo-shoot with my cousin who was getting married. I think that the photographer used blue, red and green if I'm not mistaken. I remember the horrible smell of it until today :)

We all need to start with something before the result is perfect. I think that your photos are really nice. I don't know what kind of idea you had with that tunnel photo but I like how it came out :)

The third photo looks a bit creepy - like a floating head :D

Your son seems to have the best time. I'm sure he'll ask you to do it again soon :) It must be a lot of fun for a child to play with such colorful smoke. It would be a lot of fun for me too :D

Thank you for sharing!

Caught you ...! You have travelled everywhere to have exposure of everything ... This is some thing new to me....good to see you back to the LD palace with more authenticity......

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I'm the person who needs to know everything and own everything :D That's why I collect my castles all over the world! LOL

Hahaha....it is same as you left it...just everyone missi g you

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks :) My son had soooo much fun and now wont stop talking about it. IT's funny because I didnt have an idea going into the tunnel, just thought it would be different I guess. But at this point, newly experimenting, it's all "not knowing results"

Perfection is not so easy untill we have many experience...and with each experience the perfection gets into limelight . Great to see some unvelible photos...which I was not aware such thing do exists.... That is why I like this place to explore so many unvelible and un imaginary stuff

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @mikeheinhold! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Woow so professional 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

@mikeheinhold, what a brilliant ideas. I love it very much. Do you have to set timer in the camera in order to catch the smoke? This make me feel that xmas is coming.. The color of the smoke are beautiful, it very eye catching. This is the magic of the camera or the actual smoke color is blue and red :p

I have never heard of this before and was not sure what I was going to be seeing on this post. You first set is creepy as can be and very effective - the 3rd and 4th shots especially.

I'm glad you posted the others to let us see how fun this can be. Awesome job!

hah yes, it's a weird thing but cool too. I was curious when I first heard about it too but now I'm understanding a bit more

I do not think I will do this myself, but it makes a great effect!

Congratulations @mikeheinhold! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87