Freezing motion

in #photography5 years ago

Finally, trigger for my flash arrived, after two months. Today was day for relaxing, no work at all just chilling so I decided to try using this trigger with my flash and create some interesting results. This is my first time doing something like this, in future there will be more props that will fill up this photo. For now, just pouring water and creating splashes. This blue lighting was created by changing white balance in camera, photos were just lightly edited.
IMG_3680.jpg

Setup looked like this. Flash bouncing from wall to the subject (glass) and creating beautiful silhouette. Flash was at 1/32 strength so it can freeze motion and show these splashes. Shutter speed of camera at 1/160th and aperture at f/11 so it can create bigger depth of field. And one important note, use some kind of cover for your flash because there will be splashes, and flash is not waterproof.
Equipment that I used was:

  1. Canon 600D
  2. Canon 50mm 1.8
  3. Yongnuo YN685 flash
  4. Yongnuo 622TX trigger
  5. Remote shutter release

57350474_2331600207109803_2724295453750329344_n.jpg

Photo can't be made with only one shot, there are a lot of trials and errors for this kind of photography. As you can see, I missed the spot on this photo. This little plastic figure was flying all over but not on the spot where it should be, I missed whole glass. :D

IMG_3640.jpg

But after I realized where to place my hand, good photos started showing in my camera. This one looks nice, but only thing that I need to do is to try and light up this figure. I think I need one more flash only for that because I tried already with some lights, like flashlight and one much bigger light source to lit up this but I failed.

IMG_3645.jpg

One more thing that I tried was reversing my Canon 50mm lens so I can get much closer. I went to bathroom and tried to capture bubbles that are coming from sink and it came really good. I'm really surprised by the result. You can see every bubble that this sink produces, without freezing motion I saw nothing. I though that there is a only stream of water without any bubbles inside, I was wrong. :D

IMG_3741.jpg

I will try to experiment more with this and you will see results in next post. I hope you enjoyed. Have a nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79