Sort:  

Interesting that rock was that size that fell, or it was actually larger and this is what was left

Good question @edgarsart The rock that fell to earth was indeed much larger but had been used for millennia by people for making tools. It contains many elements.
This 'chunk' is almost a metre in length. Check the link above for a deep dive. :)

wow from the photo it looked like it would be small piece

It's a pretty huge hunk of many metals and other elements.
This is what is left of a much larger object. It must have made a huge crater on impact.

Very interesting post @molometer
It is always nice when a tradition continues and is kept by the younger generation.
4.5 billion years, that's a pretty age, when you imagine that the Earth has an age of 4.6 billion years.

That's exactly it Kevin. My guess is that it is a part of the earth's accretion disk that was drawn into earth by it's growing gravitational force.
That would explain is relatively close age to earth's age. Just my theory but it makes sense to me. @astrophoto.kevin :)

That’s a really good theory and could be certainly true. For me it makes also sense. I all cases it is something from the very beginning of our solar system. 😊

Hello @molometer ,

We upped your post because we find it good. You contribute well to the Steem community. Please join our Discord here:

https://discord.gg/pBnxNgV

Best,

Members Of ADSactly

Thank you for the generous upvote. It is very much appreciated.
I'll pop into the discord group too.

@molometer It is very hard to believe these meteorite are 4.5 billion year old!!!. Thanks for sharing such wonderful post, and today i got to learn something new.keep sharing

My pleasure Rohit, glad you enjoyed it. It is pretty amazing to think 4.5 billion years ago this was flying through space!?

I am fascinated by the Meteorite fragment, amazing to think these things that have fallen from space can be found. Grenwich is jam packed with things to do, with the CuttySark being there, the National Maritime museum, Greenwich Market and also Grenwich Park.

The entry price is expensive, but that is the why many of museums and places of interest around the UK. The National Museum of Film and Photography in Bradford is still free to go round - I was surprised when I last went, I event went up to the main reception desk to try and pay!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Ha ha that is funny. How we all assume (me too these days) about having to pay to see 'our' heritage.
The Bradford museum, it sounds like they have the right idea.
They should all be free for visitors.
There are millions of meteorites falling to earth all the time though not as big as this one.

On the 12th of this month (August) we have a spectacular meteoroid shower. The Perseid shower looking up and you may see some. :)

I was there a few weeks ago @molometer although we didn't get a chance to go into the museum.

I'm always amazed that someone is able to identify rock that is a meteor when it is just lying around with others.

I've often wondered how many I've come across, or ancient tools, and just walked by. 😁

They are all around us all the time. We just have to know what to look for.
Meteorites are usually very dark in colour and heavy.
You can often spot them on a sandy beach and your part of the world is stuffed full with fossils. :)

Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos!

I had my brief time of interest in geology and the enigma that is rocks.. haha

You are welcome. Glad you enjoyed this post.
Liked your time pun too. :)

I had my brief time of interest in geology

PMSL

I like the planetarium area,this reminds me of my school days...the scenery is beautiful in this place.thanks for sharing.!!!

Wow! what kind of school did you go to? It sounds out of this world :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94