Really Awesome Model Car Photography - How To

in #photography6 years ago

My wife and I recently found a cool way to take photographs of model cars and thought we would try it out in our own home. It was really simple and once I got started I couldn't get enough!

_MG_9047.JPG

Usually when taking photos of small objects the background tends to be an issue, it could be something as bland as a monotone wall or an object that makes your model look unrealistic due to it's size difference. I mean there are ways around this and hardcore modelers will build things like diorama, essentially tiny scaled versions of bushes, roads, lights and buildings. This is an art on it's own and requires time, a lot of patience and money.

What you are going to need

  • A notebook computer, preferably one with a screen 15" and bigger
  • A book that will fit on your notebook to give you the height, so you don't see the bezel of your notebook screen
  • Black A4 cardboard
  • Glass from an A4 photo frame
  • A model car
  • A decent camera, but a cellphone could work too

I've mentioned before in a blog that I am by no means a professional photographer and that I am pretty shocking when it comes to taking photos but this makes anyone look like a pro!

What you're going to do is, find a cool image online that can be used as a sort of backdrop, view the picture in full screen mode on your notebook and then try if possible lock your keyboard and touchpad. Next, place an A4 size or slightly bigger book onto our your keyboard, place the black cardboard ( Or any colour cardboard for that matter ) on top of the book, then carefully lay the glass over the cardboard.

_MG_9048.JPG

You are now done! Time to get out your model cars and have fun. I took a few shots of the 1/43 scale RX7 I had lying around, I played around with the aperture and exposure settings and managed to get 1 good shot out of the 20 I took.

_MG_9051.JPG

Anyway, I'm glad we found this new and exciting way to take model cars photographs. I'm definitely going to be snapping some photos in the near future of my other scale models.

Hope you all enjoyed this blog, it was really different to what I usually do!

_MG_9040.JPG

_MG_9041.JPG


FOLLOW ME HERE!

Discord Link

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-12T18:48:48
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 322.56/400.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 28
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.54 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

@nelkeljdm ,you are creative! Big up!
Nice photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25