UNIBEN

in #photography5 years ago

P.s I'm not an official photographer

UNIBEN's auditorium
Uniben's auditorium

This was my very first contact with the University of Benin as a student. It is kind of a sad story. So after I gained admission into the University of Benin, I was supposed to go for some form clearance, which necessities the presentation of some documents, one of which is my O'level result. How was this a problem? Well in high school I was a science student. I decided to take a u-turn by applying for a commercial course, Accounting--which I did not get (got Insurance instead). For this said reason the clearance officer said I would have to decline by admission because I did not meet the requirements. This was a big blow to my me because it was my fourth year of trying to get into the university. The process is kind of hard here because the slots available cannot cater for the number of students who apply. Imagine a scenario where there are over 10million applicants and only 900,000 slots available. So it is difficult getting into a federal university. If your parents were/are rich then you can fancy your chances in private universities.

I went back home that day heartbroken. My dad had spent over $1000. I had gotten an apartment, and even a laptop I did not need at that point (I wish I had one now). He made such I was comfortable, so calling him to break the news was unthinkable. I had to find a way out.

I went back to check Jamb brochure to review the requirements again and I discovered that my admission was still valid. For my O'levels, I needed at least a credit in Maths, English, Economics, and any two social-science course which I had. So I went from one office to another, explaining my situation and after a month I got things sorted out.

This is me at my matric (2015)

I and my mum

Faculty Building

This is where I received most of my lectures.

I think it is one of the oldest buildings in UNIBEN.

View from the faculty building

Side view of the faculty building.

Twin Lecture theatre

Another of my favorite spots, although a shadow of what it used to be. Most of the chairs are bad, no light. Little has been done to renovate the place

Agric faculty building

This happens to be the most useless building in UNIBEN. No lecture has been held here and this building was erected before I became a student of UNIBEN.

UNIBEN's main exit

Everything has come to an end. My journey in UNIBEN has ended. Quite a number of things still remain the same, I wish things would improve for the welfare of the students. However, I am grateful for the experience.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

College experience is an important part of who we become and it seems that you have been able to take advantage of it into a mature to a young man with great potential and entrepreneurial spirit which is a great start. Look forward to continuing to see your journey!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84