My Dog Has A Frog Licking Addiction

in #photography5 years ago

IMG_4304.jpg

These are a few photos that I took outside of my house with my trusty Canon 7D and 85mm lens. Although the photos came out pretty cool, there is also a bit of a story behind them.

IMG_4305.jpg

About an hour before taking them, I heard a ton of commotion outside, so I cam running to see what the heck was going on. I found this poor little frog, paralyzed with fear under the slobbering mouth of my Cocker Spaniel, Harvey. In case you've not seen him before, this is the guy:

IMG_4341.jpg

Seems innocent enough, right? Well, ol' Harvey was picking up the frog over and over again in his mouth, then dropping it in disgust. Then he would bark at it profusely. I quickly picked up the frog and put in on top of the hose rack, where you see it in the photos.

I was concerned about Harvey because he quickly started to foam at the mouth. It seems that these frogs produce a hallucinogenic compound on their skin and Harvey was tripping balls. I quickly brought him in the house and called the vet. After describing the frog, they told me to put him in the shower and run water through his mouth and wash it out.

After a few minutes, he was back to his normal self, and the vet said that he should be fine.

Not 10 minutes later, I hear him out there barking at full force again! I quickly ran outside, and there was the poor little frog, just out of Harvey's reach, but he was really trying to get at him.

_MG_4377.jpg

This is the same dog that just a year prior was sprayed full force in the face by a skunk. After hours of cleaning him up, as soon as we released him, he ran directly back out to look for the skunk. I sure do love that little dog, but he sure is not have all of his screws fully tightened.

IMG_4364.jpg

And lastly, there his is on a midnight hunt looking for lizards to attack. Thank God the lizards don't have any toxic excretions! He is forever running around with a lizard in his mouth.

_MG_4257.jpg

Don't worry little buddy. You are safe for now!

Sort:  

I think if he did not like his condition, then he will no longer touch the frogs. A beautiful dog, spaniel?

Hahahaha Rick, I just about fell out of my chair laughing - what a crazy dog, and of course right away I thought of Homer Simpson licking a frog

just look at Harvey's eyes and then at Homer ......
as for the skunk - happens often enough, just wash him with ketchup, that takes the smell out. Still better than chasing after a porcupine, you'd be busy with pliers forever!

Oh, boy! I thank my lucky stars that Harvey hasn't met a porcupine yet. He would be done for!

And yes! haha! I have thought of Homer more than once looking at that little dog. Now it's the eyes, and the frog licking lol!

I want that dog in the fox hole with me :-)

He is definitely good at crawling in small spaces and getting things. I guess that's what they are bred for!

Do not bring your pooch to the tropical rain forest Sir @nuthman LOL

I wouldn't dare.. He'd die in an hour! haha

It look like you must always take care of your dog not to bite poisonous frogs. .

Your dog be like, 'you taste good but I don't wanna eat ya' :D

Posted using Partiko Android

lol.. yeah, he spits out way more stuff than he actually eats. It's pretty weird

I don't know what the deal is with dogs and frogs but apparently in Florida, dogs dying because they decided to lick the wrong frog has apparently become a problem.

Yeah! This actually happened in a town in Florida called Loxahatchee (Palm Beach County). We bought a house down there and stayed for about 2 years. Didn't like it, so moved back to California. But there were a LOT of these toxic frogs down there. You can see the stuff bubbling up on their back, looks like gooey dew

Hi, @nuthman!

You just got a 3.72% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01