Playing Dead Leaf

in #photography6 years ago

This comma (Polygonia c-album), gehakkelde aurelia in Dutch, that I saw the other day is a bright orange when seen from the top, but with its wings closed it can do a reasonable impression of a dead leaf:

GehakkeldeAureliaOpzij2018LBP.jpg


Some older photos of this species:

CAlbumAV.jpg

GehakkeldeAureliaBlaadje.jpg

HakAur1.jpg


Seen from the top, it is quite a different beast:

GehakkeldeAurelia1BZ.jpg

GehakkeldeAureliaTwickel.jpg


Note that this is not the only two-faced insect around.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Nah. Looks like a butterfly to me @ocrdu. Until you took the picture of it in amongst the dead leaves that is! 😱 😂

I saw it land there, or I would probably have missed it.

Makes sense! 😁

Not everyone thinks like you, that's why I like you.

Very beautiful butterflies and butterflies that are very unique if they hide behind dried leaves are very difficult for us to know.

I myself really like macrophotography of wild animals but as long as I hunt macrophotography of wild animals, I have never seen butterflies like this.thank you for sharing Macrophotography which is very beautiful and let me follow you.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That’s one hell of a way to be in camo!

Posted using Partiko iOS

So beautiful and one of my favorites! I have not seen one yet this year.

I haven't seen many either, just a few. There seems to be something going wrong this year with some species.

I have been thinking that about the birds. Their numbers seem down dramatically.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-08T11:20:33
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1240.52/1600.00
Total Photos: 179
Total comments: 37
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

They are few and far between this year. I believe it is because I am not paying attention and they are camouflaged. I love the uniqueness of these. I had to really look twice (or perhaps three times) on the one hidden among the leaves.

Upped and Steemed Tip!

Thanks.

But you should pay attention! They are pretty.

Truth! On both counts. I should pay attention and they are pretty. Thank you for my sunshine! It took so long to get here, I went to Florida for a few days, but, I hear the weather is great back home.

Rain and thunder here, but it was long overdue, it's been dry and hot.

Rain and thunder here,
But it was long overdue,
It's been dry and hot.

                 - ocrdu


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It's not a haiku you bot! Pay attention.

Do you speak to bots often?

I try not to but this one really makes me laugh the way he makes everything into a haiku. I couldn't help myself.

Well, at least the weather was paying attention!

Hi @ocrdu! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Very clever and rather cool looking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73