Detour

in #photography6 years ago

We just came back home from Calgary after spent a great weekend there with our friends. I collected some good shots and I'm looking forward to showing them to you this week.

But for today's I prepared the fresh ones from our last part of the trip.

It's difficult to take photos from the moving car and we decided to leave the highway and make a detour. The last 100 km we drove through the countryside where you could find much more interesting stuff, you can stop the car and take your time for photographing.

20180709_130931.jpg

I had a similar poster of an old abandoned barn in my basement many years ago in Slovenia and I couldn't even remotely imagine someday I'll be taking photos of it 8000 km away in a new country.

And here I am.

Never say never.

20180709_105219.jpg

The beehives on the photo are owned by a hobby farmer.

But beekeeping is a big business here on prairies if you didn't know. They move bees around with semi trucks and sometimes even trains. Bee farmers have a couple of thousands of bee colonies each.

20180709_114400.jpg

This water tower is a Trademark of the town of Wetaskiwin and they are also known for the lowest prices of cars in this area.

Strange name, isn't it?

It's in the language of the Native people.

20180709_110705.jpg

Short coffee break with cheese and strawberry cake on our way to Camrose.

20180709_115754.jpg

Commercials and advertising is a serious issue and entrepreneurs know how to do it.

This one got my attention for sure. I even stop and park my car to take some good shots.

This is just one of them.

20180709_105849.jpg

Horses on the pasture.

20180709_112126.jpg

July classic view.

20180709_130059.jpg

Another classic from the wild west.

20180709_125224.jpg

Range Road we call them here.

Gravel roads with rocks.

You can't find a car without a cracked windshield. Or a clean car either.

20180709_130431.jpg

Hot summer temperatures are a boon for algae. Ponds and smaller lakes turn green and they look dirty.

But photographers like the bright green color.

It's almost 4:30 and that cake is gone long ago and the fridge is empty too. Time to go out and find something to eat. See you tomorrow when I'll be back in the tracks.

Have a great day, my friends.

Sort:  

Very interesting, I love the wide open fields and horses! I live in Texas and I love when I get to drive by some local farms with cows and horses. I don't live on a farm, but I've always lived in Texas with wide open spaces and the big, beautiful Texas Sky. So, I also love the blue skies in your photos!

good job , thanks .

The town of Wetaskiwin seems to be a lovely place.
business oriented and human friendly.
Would love to see that hanging truck for myself someday

Great shots! I’m in the middle of a vacation myself...up in northern Michigan.

Having a great time so far...fires, nature, rock hunting, local cuisine...vacation can be tiring!

Be safe, have fun, and have a relaxing time...cheers.

I like this old house, this curved is good for taking pictures, I think it can be good in black and white :) And good morning I just wake up when I look your post.

I love the scenery that you have shared there @oldtimer it is all just beautiful and picturesque. A subject for a good painting if you are a painter though.

howdy there @oldtimer! say it looks like ya'll had a great road trip with some very interesting scenery, another fine post sir, looking forward to the rest of the photos!

image quality is very sharp and looking an awesome place you had fun in there thanks for sharing

I wanna go Calgary again! Good day!

@oldtimer I hope you enjoyed your trip, you made good captures look amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84