McGettigan's In Dubai - Green Thursday

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I made a post a couple of days ago about Slovenia and you all noticed how most of the photos were green. I was looking for the topic for today's post and find out that today is green Thursday. I said to myself: no color challenge for me today.

But when I start to browse my fresh photo albums I got an idea. I'll show you that even with photos from sandy, the desert rich country you can participate in a green photo challenge.

I took these photos one day when our friend in Dubai invited us for the brunch. A funny word I learned in Canada. It's not either breakfast no lunch. Somewhere in between, but only time wise. The meals are usually lunch size.

Anyway. Dubai is quite a big city and half an hour drive to the restaurant is a normal thing, if you don't miss the right turn and if you find a parking spot of course. It's better to calculate a full hour otherwise you can expect to hear your stomach start to complaining.

The voice from our GPS navigation reminded us that we reached our final destination. Finally.

20180406_141111.jpg

A nice Irish Green bar counter. With plenty of Irish beer.
The beer lovers will immediately notice the ten beer taps but experienced ones will check on the right side too. I counted them for you. They're twenty (20).

20180406_1232181.jpg

McGettigan's is nice Irish restaurant with great food and drinks but you not gonna find it the concrete jungle of Dubai without a good friend and navigation.

20180406_124521.jpg

20180406_124454.jpg

Nice little outside garden for the smokers.
But not in Dubai. You can smoke inside too if you want. Canadian smokers would love that.

20180406_124550.jpg

Like in the woodshed.
#20180406_124601.jpg

More of the green atmosphere.

20180406_132254.jpg

The famous Beef pie. Crisp dough on top of Irish beef meat stew.

20180406_132235.jpg

I forgot to show the mash potatoes and beer.

20180406_141202.jpg

This TV doesn't fit but it's Sports bar and football is an important part of Irishman's life, I assume.

20180406_130121.jpg

We chopped some wood on a way out to burn some of that pie's calories and stopped for an extra pint at the bar.

20180406_141131.jpg

Cheers to all Irish steemians.

Have a great green day, my friends

Sort:  

What a nice composur of post and lovely clear photos. Mehn!! You are really nice in posting. Hope to learn from you and become a better you. Thanks @oldtimer

I totally agree with you

Great scenery from the fastest growing and beautiful city in the world . Interesting the desert has become a place where people around the world come o fall in love with. @olditimer am really craving for those delicious meals. Great post boss

Wow...What a nice to be...you sure must have had fun

Wow nice

please take a look my first post on steemit about Travel and tourism
https://goo.gl/7hydRv

Very cool looking green colour, but we both know which green wins ;)

My well trained eyes saw the taps before reading your narrative... what a find. An Expatriates heaven. St. Patty's Day there must be epic. Great blog @oldtimer.

They have an even bigger pub called Irish village but we didn't have time to visit it this time. A couple years ago we were there. It was a bit wild although was not St. Patric day.
Thanks for the kind comment.

green color
It is the color of nature
Very really wonderful photography
A special place
Well done publishing

Cheer for the pictures. I travel rarely.
Seems there's a bar in every part of the globe, even the desert ;D
The few occasions when I've travelled I've come to conclude modern city life is basically identical everywhere. It's as if you never left home.

Except if you live in the village.

Interesting post. Nice green photos despite the fact that I usually prefer my greens to be of the natural variety ;)

You can check my post about Slovenia from a couple of days ago.

beautiful pictures..........

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28