These hills are filled with magic. Listen to the secrets.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

There is nothing quite as peaceful to me as walking through a wheat field on an early October morning as the birds sing.


Did you ever notice that October morning birds sing differently than summer morning birds? It's true.

There are more crows calling out, and the migrating starlings are traveling through. I hear more woodpeckers pecking. The robins have largely moved on along and the mourning doves aren't as vocal as they once were. It's a different kind of music.

I assume they're all preparing for the winter months. Maybe they are somehow more in tune to the fact that the warm months are dying. Whatever the reason may be, it is a haunting and beautiful mystery.

They seem to call out to me as I gaze cross the foggy meadows. These hills stretch all the way to Kentucky from here. Do you see the deep blue hills in the background? That's Kentucky.

1398466_10151945780965450_224469548_o.jpg

Standing here, in this gentle Tennessee wonderland, I can see the whole world fall away from me. This is my home. Not over there. My feet are rooted down here. I'll be in Tennessee till I die, I'm sure. The ocean calls out to me, and is really my truest dream, but for now that's all it can be.

I dream and dream.

divider2.png

183.jpg
divider2.png

But the countryside yields some well-received sympathy gifts.


616428_10151947442045450_1060062035_o.jpg

divider2.png
In October there are more spiderwebs hanging around than anytime at all during the summer months. I supposed it is because all of the baby spiders that have now grown into such masterful web wizards. I must have spent an hour gazing at just the spiderwebs alone.

Spiders are a recurring them in my life, almost like little signs from the universe reminding me that it is so much bigger than humanity. Interesting how the tiniest creatures can make me feel so small in such a meaningful way.

When the delicate morning sunlight casts its glow upon a spiderweb after a dew has fallen, it creates a moment of wonder. The landscape becomes masterfully decorated with a swirling, silky wonderland of magic laced upon the weeds and the dying grasses.
divider2.png
181.jpg

The late summer wildflowers hang over, still fighting. They are still hanging on to their final, aching breaths before the first frost comes.

1380059_10151945702630450_405919020_n.jpg

divider2.png

182.jpg

It will be here soon. I know it's coming. The spiders have whispered their secrets to me.

I know I will stand here soon again to gaze upon the beauty of a fallen frost, even as my heart weeps for the October magic that lives here now.

18.jpg

divider2.png

images.png

I am a proud member of @helpie
@helpie is now a w i t n e s s
♥ please consider gifting your vote to us ♥
images.png

All photography is mine. ©2018 paintingangels (S. Matthews)

Sort:  

oh the mist...
Into the alluring gray and white transient world you build...
I love all the pictures, specially the cobwebs covered in dewdrop
You can guess I love them too

*Like dew on a cobweb of delicate silk
and sheer threads of silver
are the weft, the fabric of dreams"

Thanks for the walk... I also enjoy these moody early Atumn days.

You would so very much love it here now, Pris. It's so pretty. October is my favorite month. ♥

The American landscapes can be so beautiful ..just wish the general population were different ...

Wanders through the haunted hillside...

Wow awsome pictures and such a lovely and moody text. It was a joy to read this article and feel the autumn within and between your words.

Thanks for sharing !

Thanks, @tibfox! I am sorry it took me so long to reply. Im so happy you enjoyed the post. ❤️

Very nice pics and narration. (all except the last one a bit creepy). Is that a spider or a giant tick? Aaack!

You write with such a sense of wonderment!
This is a lovely post!

... and Autumn came dancing like spiders over the sea.

Glad you heard them too. <3

Mother Nature is so beautiful and your October photos reflect some of this beauty.

I really like these photos. The mist / fog... and fall colors... the spider webs, the dew... and is that the moon behind the spider? Nice and peaceful.

Yes it's actually the full moon in October.. not this October, though. It was on my daughter's swing outside, and building a web. the moon was shining so brightly behind it that it actually illuminated the little hairs on its legs.

Hi @paintingangels!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.179 which ranks you at #2884 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 12 places in the last three days (old rank 2872).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 376 contributions, your post is ranked at #49.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83