A lazy hot Sunday afternoon!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Have you ever seen a wild Tortoise yawn on a hot day? Let me show you!

I posted the first 3 photos of the tortoise on my facebook page last year, but as I rummaged in the memory box, I decided that they are so cute that I would also show them to you.
All of the rest are current photos and they tell of how animals cope with hot afternoons.
Here's some Sunday siestas!

Can you imagine how hot it gets in his mobile shell home?

Yaaaawn! He yawned so wide that I could almost see his tonsils!

Now for some other views of sleepy animals!

This squirrel has found a cool spot in a nut tree!

A guinea fowl enjoys a nap in a hole that she dug!

This lady is having an ecstatic neck massage!

And the babies are nodding off in the late afternoon sun!

Here's a picture of pure cuteness!

Even the flowers struggle to keep their heads up in the hot afternoon sun!

I think most of us know that lethargic late Sunday afternoon feeling. Especially after lunch when the stomach is full and it makes the eyes to droop. Years ago the Sunday afternoon sleep was an institution by the elders and children were banished to their rooms for the afternoon. Fortunately my bedroom had a slider window and I regularly un-banished myself by slipping through the window. Until my mom found out and after a hiding she had the window wired up.
That was the start of my intense reading years.
Today, so many years later I still never sleep in the day. (Only because I am hyper active)

But here nature teaches us that an afternoon sleep is good for one. The animals are all fit and healthy and they perform at optimum simply because they rest often. Some of us are too busy to rest and sooner or later the bodies say that they have had enough. Once fit as a fiddle, all kinds of ailments start to materialize. Flu, chest or some other pains, one or another form of ailment start to become a constant companion. Rest is a prerequisite in order to maintain a healthy body. So sad that I am only starting to slow down now. The damage is done!
Think about it!

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you and upvoted!

Thanks for the photo and story. Very interesting, and most of all I remember the picture with a tortoise sip))

Thank you and I am glad that you enjoyed the post!
Blessings!

I literally yawned after looking at the tortoise yawned. Beware, it's contagious! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Strangely I also felt like yawning when I took the shot. So contagious that when I yawn our little dog also yawns.
Blessings!

My parents did the same, so ditto. Another culprit here never taking a nap in the daytime, yes nature will show us the right way to treat midday heat and learning to relax. Typical humans we always know better.

Another lovely set of photography, tortoise are one of my favourite animals that amble around Stephen.

It was always a mission to get out in fear of a bad hiding always hanging over one's head, but we enjoyed our escapes lady Joan. Today the children don't want to go out, as they would rather sit on their cell phones, which is such a much bigger danger to their health!
I also love tortoises!
Blessings!

When we had to stay in we got into more mischief, more often told to play in the garden or adjacent veld. Totally agree children are not outdoors often enough, sadly neither are they safe, parents are caught between a rock and a hard place.

I only ever take a nap during the day if I am not feeling well otherwise I know I will not sleep at night, some great shots I love the sequence of the turtle yawning ;)

You know exactly what I am talking about JJ and it's so true in my case also. Sleep in the day and know that there will be no sleep at night.
Glad that you liked the shots.
Blessings!

Wishing you a great week ahead my friend

Reminds me of the dog in my home, she just sleeps the whole afternoon whenever its hot, and it's always hot in Malaysia...I guess she hates me when I rub her head when she's sleeping HAHA.

I also have tortoises in my home but I never see it yawn... must be interesting to see if it actually did!

Rest assured that your intention is only kindness when you rub your sleeping dog, even if the dog thinks that you are a bit wayward hahaha.
I can assure you that tortoises yawn, as evidenced here. Not often and in fact, I have never seen this again.
Blessings!

Love to learn about the animals in different parts of the world and so enjoy your photography!
I learned about the need for taking breaks and resting a while ago after having pushed myself to exhaustion then realizing that that was not doing me any good at all!

Thank you kindly and we have also suffered severe burn-out after continuously pushing ourselves to the limit. Slowly recovering now and keeping an eye on our efforts in the charity work.
Blessings!

Love to learn about the animals in different parts of the world and so enjoy your photography!
I learned about the need for taking breaks and resting a while ago after having pushed myself to exhaustion then realizing that that was not doing me any good at all!

Great shots! I've never seen a wild Tortoise yawn.

Thank you and I hope that some day you will also see a tortoise yawn my friend. Just keep on watching them.
Blessings!

This post does ooze with that 'lazy sunday' afternoon vibes * ___ * I feel really sleepy also looking at all of these sleepy animals zzzz <3 What a beautiful post with really wonderful photos !!! <3

So glad that you liked it my friend and it even made me feel drowsy while I was working on the post. My idea was to bring about some Sunday peace.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02