A rainy sunrise!steemCreated with Sketch.

IMG_9841.JPG

Fresh and wet photos taken this morning in the rain at sunrise!

In my youth I was raised on a farm and early morning rising has become a lifelong habit. I am normally up and about while the chickens are still sleeping and this morning was no different, except for the rain. The first thing that I check during rain spells is for breaks in the clouds, as I know that when gaps flow across the face of the rising sun, magical colors appear in the clouds. This was such a Saturday morning!
Have a look below at what I am talking about!

IMG_9839.JPG

Here you can see the gap in the clouds flowing directly over the rising sun!

IMG_9854.JPG

IMG_9849.JPG

The 2 photos above show some magic in the skies!

IMG_9898.JPG

Large size of the falling rain rain drops leaving sun traces behind them!

IMG_9893.JPG

Finally the sun broke through lighting this tree like a stage!

IMG_9909.JPG

Wet macadamia shells spread amongst the succulents a beautiful red!

IMG_9964.JPG

I don't know who was more wet, the squirrel or me!

Last night the clouds offered me no chance to get one of the famous sunsets, as they rolled in black and pregnant with water. No gaps and they covered the skies in an angry swell. Eventually it started raining in the early morning hours and by about 5am the rain started to dissipate somewhat. We can hear the sound of the rain on the roof and as it was now falling intermittently, it gave me a clue that there were some gaps amongst the clouds.

A quick face wash, half a cup of black coffee and I was out there with the camera in the dark waiting for the sunrise. Foolishly I had no jacket on and my shirt was soon drenched, but the camera was dry, as I normally keep it under my shirt and by the time I fetched a jacket, the sun was rising. During early rainy mornings the normal cacophony of bird song is absent and only the pitter patter of falling drops dancing on the roofs can be heard.

Fortunately the wind also decided to take a holiday and it was all calm and serene outside. Now, as I write this, I can see through the window that the wind has returned and this means rain for the rest of the day. The weather man confirms that it will rain for the next 3 days and this is great, as I have some paw-paw tree seedlings out that will love the weather.
We hope that the rain will also cover the drought stricken areas of the country.
But I have talked enough!

We hope you have enjoyed the post and thank you for your visit to @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Love that sky. At first I thought it was a fire streaming up from the ground into the sky.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

Thank you Sir and the sunset was indeed also terrific!
Here's an idea of the sunset.
I sent @tattoodjay an earlier version of this cloud to his comment above, before the sunset started coloring it.
Blessings!
IMG_0181.JPG

Nice post :) Cheers :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you and cheers also to you my friend!

Well worth getting a bit wet to catch these amazing shots so beautiful

Totally agreed my friend, the problem was more to keep the rain of the camera's lens.
Blessings!

I can understand I do now mind getting wet but dont like to let the camera get wet LOL

Remember when I spoke about the rain clouds and the sunset?
This is just a teaser, as it turns golden yellow later!
IMG_0170.JPG

Cool I will look forward to seeing the post :)

Hello @papilloncharity
Blue sky with beautiful golden clouds looks awesome..
Amazing photographs my friend.
thanks for share with us..

Helloo @tussar11
The skies were indeed awesome this morning.
Thank you and blessings to you my friend!

@ekawW greetings and you might like the succulent in this post?

What a wonderful morning reportage!
The colors in the sky fascinate!
I, on the contrary, owl and love to sleep in the morning. Therefore, for me there is something heroic: to get up so early and wait for the sunrise in the rain.

Thank you Lady Elena, the colors were indeed fantastic and the sunset was even more stunning.
Nothing heroic, just a habit that regularly delivers nice surprises.
Blessings!

Great early morning captures! The colors are fantastic!

Thank you and glad that you liked the colors Sir!
Blessings!

Beautiful sky! I haven't looked up for a long time - thanks for reminding me that some things are amazing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you and I love to join the awakening of the new day my friend!
Blessings!

Everything waking up to a new day with some rain lovely images Stephen, winter to slowly creeping in the early mornings have a lovely crisp feel to them again.

Thank you Lady Joan and it was indeed an unusual day created by the wet clouds.
Yep! winter is knocking on the door and I so hope that the two guinea babies are going to endure.
Blessings!

Some cool photos here. I really should start watching more sunrises becomes it’s something I don’t do enough but love viewing.

Thank you and really good for the soul to watch the start of the day.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86