An Ancient Bird and a 103 year old Camera!

This is a "No. 2 Eastman Kodak Folding Autographic Brownie" 1915. This was also the first "Autographic" camera, meaning that people could write their names and dates on the photos with a stylus! But what does a prehistoric bird have to do with this camera that I took out of my collection?

This story is told in two parts, yesterday and today!
Please journey with me back in time!

Yesterday I set my camera tripod up to take moonshots, but the Loeries thought it was their new seat.

"Hey", "I want food"!

And now, the following photos will hopefully also amaze you!
Part two of the story!

Today, I took one old camera out of my collection and decided to pair it with the prehistoric Loeries as an age combination. The question was; would the Loeries sit on it?

You will probably never again see an original photo like this!
A Loerie sitting on a No. 2 Eastman Kodak Folding Autographic Brownie. What an age combination!

And there she goes!

I was so thrilled to see this right here in our front garden at home!

"In 1914 George Eastman bought the rights to a method of writing on film, from his friend (and the inventor of the process) Henry J Gaisman and thus the Kodak Autographic system was introduced to the photographic world. The autographic system allowed the user to write information directly onto the film, using a stylus supplied with the camera, through a specially designed writing window on the camera back.

The Autographic film instead of having the usual thick opaque backing paper, was wound with a sheet of carbon paper and thin red backing paper. Pressure of the stylus on the backing paper transferred the carbon to the red paper and formed an image on the carbon paper. Light passing through the lines of the image on the carbon paper caused the image to be recorded onto the film. By this means the photographer could record, for example, information regarding the photographic subject, the date and time etc."
Taken from; www.adamcostelloportfolio.com

And as far as we know, the Loerie birds date back to the Jurassic era and this is why they look so weird today! Yet they are beautiful and harmless birds that bring much amusement and joy into our lives'. I have a post somewhere on this blog that shows how I saved one of the young Loeries from an attack by a cat that was marauding in the complex and since then, the Loeries see us as family! They love Banana's and Pawpaw's and we serve them every morning and every evening!

We hope you have enjoyed this historic event!

All photos are my own, taken with a Canon Powershot SX60 HS and unedited.

Thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Wow, this is amazing shots and I am jealous that you get so many birds. But good for you! So you are feeding to birds to attract them to your garden. We tried putting bird seed out but they never touched it.

We have always had feeders wherever we stayed Lady Hope and as regards to seed, we feed Wild Bird seed to the small guys and fruit to the big birds! Marian (my wife) also bakes these funny "healthy" things that she calls muffins and scones and she bakes extra to share with the birds! They love it when she crumbles the stuff and birds of many species arrive to join in the cake fest. Of course even the Loeries join in, even though the favorites are Bananas and PawPaws! Maybe you should try to lay some of the mentioned goodies out and see how the birds react? Blessings! @hope777

Thank you for replying. Here at the new house where we moved to is almost no trees. We exchanged the trees, the birds and monkeys for a sea view. I think the monkeys would have reached the fruit before the birds. But oh well, I will remember if we move again. (If you are renting your never know) :-)

I like your posts, and it looks like the camera is an antique thing, and a beautiful bird.
how can the bird stand in the camera, I am a bit surprised and amazed. :D

Thank you for liking my posts my friend! The bird simply flies up to the camera and then the bird sits on the camera. The birds normally come to eat at our place and they will sit on anything when they wait for food! Blessings! @dayatsiaulia

Really amazing ... and what a lucky shot with the old camera and the Loerie. I love it!

Glad you liked it Lady and my next step is now to drag some other old things out of my collection to fit onto the tripod! Let's hope the Loeries will sit on it, as then I can give my old collection new life with photos of birds sitting on it! Blessings! @hetty-rowan

It's awesome when you have great plans for one day and the plans turns even better hahaha

Agreed my friend, one should always include the unexpected in any plans that one makes! Blessings!

Some wonderful shots!

I love vintage stuff. What a great little piece you have there :)

We are of the same mind and I have a few exceptional items that I gathered on my journey through life! Blessings! @therneau

Birds are so familiar with their surrounding, knowing they will not be disturbed, the trust is amazing as are your friends of a feather visiting.

The old camera is a master piece, my Dad had a similar one (no clue where it went) what an interesting history of old with new.

I think the birds have adopted us as family Lady Joan and isn't it amazing how things just disappear in life? I had an original set of handmade Bowie knifes wrapped in a genuine leather folding pouch. 6 hunting knifes that are in great demand. Don't ask me where they are! I also like to do comparisons between ages! Blessings! @joanstewart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29